So I’m a little behind the curve here. Anyone who’s known me for more than a month is not surprised by this. The latest installment in the Gratitude Challenge is to create a video testimonial of the things that I’m thankful for and to describe how this challenge has changed my perspective thus far. The answer to that is self-evident. I’m thankful for my family and friends. As for how has this challenge changed my perspective? It’s been a gradual shift so far. I do catch myself taking notes more often on things that I want to recall and just generally enjoying the little moments. I always have enjoyed them before, but I think now I’m really starting to value them.

I joke with my friends and family about what a simple man I am, but it’s true at it’s core. I’ve been thinking about some of my most treasured memories lately and here’s a couple of examples. Without question one of the best nights of the Summer was having friends and their kids over to roast hot dogs and make s’mores over a camp fire in the backyard. I consider the cook out scientific research, because after all, I had to know whether a camp fire roasted hot dog tasted better than a ball park hot dog. So far the data is inconclusive and it will definitely require more research. I’ll keep you posted.

Another treasured memory…hosting a pack of my sons’ friends at our house for the sole purpose of going ape-wild in the backyard with water balloons and water guns. It was pure unadulterated soggy chaos and we had a ball. Pull out a Slip N’ Slide and I’m the first one down that sucker. But that’s different. I mean, as a responsible adult, it’s only logical that I ensure that it’s safe for the children right?

Lest you think I was joking about the Slip N' Slide

Lest you think I was joking about the Slip N' Slide

So I know what I’m grateful for…family and friends, and an inherent knack for making the most of the little things. But to honor the spirit, if not the letter of the Gratitude Challenge I decided to talk to my kids and find out what they’re grateful for. It didn’t take long. I’ll let them tell you in their own words what they’re grateful for.

Have a good one. We’ll talk again.

The Dynamo also takes a turn to try and tell us what she is grateful for…

