CrossFit – July 4 – 2 workouts!

Bootcamp – Lead by Coach Paul.
12 minutes AMRAP

200m run/30 single unders (alternating)
7 burpees
14 Kettle Bell Swings

So stat’s first today.

I did 6 sets of the first two exercises. I got 5 complete sets of Kettle Bell swings in.  The run was absolutely NO FUN under the 90+ degree humid, July Durham sun. Just “Ugh!” Much preferred the sets that began with the jump rope.

Found my hands floating up again on the single unders, when coming off the kettle bell swings. Made finding a rhythm early in the jump rope a particular challenge.

Got schooled on the Kettle Bell swings today too! That was cool. It’s been explained to me before (and I just didn’t pick up on it) but today Coach Paul physically demonstrated for us how we should drive the kettle bell back down and not just let gravity define the down swing. Makes all the difference in the world. I found that it forced me to keep my core taut through out the entire rep. If I let gravit do all the work on the down swing, I find myself relaxing my core. Thanks for the tip, Coach!

Then something funky happened. I decided to stick around and do the hero Work out of the day too. I don’t know what got into me….yeah I do. I’d been monkeying with the idea of trying to do both workouts for a day now. After the BootCamp workout, I was perfectly satisfied with my effort and content to go home. Then I overheard 3 other folks who had been in the bootcamp session talking amongst themselves, “what do you think? Should we do the second workout too?” They agreed that they would. At that point I made the choice to stay and gut it out. If they were going to double up, then so was I. So I found a partner we got our gear and got ready for “McGhee!”

Hero WOD – Led by Coach Paul

First, a word about Hero WOD’s. A Hero WOD is an exceptionally ramped up workout that honors a fallen hero. A Hero can be a service member, a law enforcement officer, firefighter, EMT and more. For more information on some of the workouts and the men and women they honor, check this out. Hero workouts typically are done on corresponding holidays, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Veteran’s Day, etc. It’s a great opportunity to challenge ourselves as well as remember and honor not just the designated hero of the day, but all of the people who have paid the ultimate sacrifice in the service of others. It’s a privilege to participate.

Here’s a brief note about the hero we honored today.

Corporal Ryan C. McGhee, 21, was killed in action on May 13, 2009 by small arms fire during combat in central Iraq. He served with 3rd Battalion, 75th Ranger Regiment of Fort Benning, Ga. This was his fourth deployment, his first to Iraq. Ryan was engaged to Ashleigh Mitchell of Fredericksburg, VA. He is survived by his father Steven McGhee of Myrtle Beach S.C., his mother Sherrie Battle McGhee, and his brother Zachary.” CrossFit Durham

So here’s the workout.

30 minutes!
5 deadlifts
13 push ups
9 box jumps

As Many Rounds as Possible. One athlete does a complete round of the exercises above. When they finish the 9 box jumps, the partner begins their round.

I was stunned at the number of folks in the gym. It was fantastic to see. Really cool. I connected/partnered with a guy I met Saturday at the community workout. He was visiting from out of town, we were familiar to each other, so we decided to work together.

The suggested weight for the deadlift was 275 lbs. Um, no! I’m not there yet, and that would have outweighed my partner by a good 90 lbs. Plus, realistically, there simply weren’t enough barbells to go around. My partner and I agreed that we were content with a 52 lb kettle bell in each hand for 104 lb deadlift.

We used a 20″ box for the box jumps. That worked well. I was pretty comfortable with it. Comfortable enough that the next time we do box jumps at boot camp, I’m considering a 24″ box. My partner had fresh legs and is a volley ball player. I’m pretty sure he could have used my Mustang for box jumps, if the siutation required it.

Push Ups went well. First two sets were clean. Good form, unbroken, meaning I hammered out all 13 repetitions without resting. By the third set I had to go to my knees to keep my form clean and to keep the team moving forward. I was wasting too much time resting trying to do unmodified pushups. Sets 2-6 from my knees were unbroken. By set 7, I had to do 7 reps, rest, 4 reps, rest, 2 reps. By set 9 I was doing 7-2-2-2.

In the end, my partner and I completed 22 total rounds. I was very, very pleased with those results.

