Alternatively titled Up, Down! Up, Down! Wow what a workout today. Between the snatch balances, wall balls, and burpees my legs are SMOKED from all of the squatting and getting up off the gym floor!

The strength portion was supposed to be seven individual snatch balance lifts. In theory we should have been able to do a bit more on this lift than we can with an overhead snatch. That particular goal is lost on me. To date I haven’t attempted the snatch outside of the foundations course. I don’t have a PR for that lift to use as a guideline.

Per Coach Jack’s direction to the group, I practiced form a few times with a bare bar before applying weights. After a few reps, I thought I had the basics down. So I added 20 lbs to the bar for a total of 65. I successfully lifted that twice. Both times felt fairly sound. I went to 75 lbs. I lifted this one multiple times, frankly I stopped counting the reps. One time I would get the lift. The next time, I lost it in front of me. The next time I lost it behind me. I got frustrated and knew I had to back off, but I wasn’t ready to give in just yet.

According to Coach Jack on the lifts that he observed, my biggest issue was not getting my shoulders back far enough. Which meant the weights were driving my body forward and preventing me from driving it upwards. The challenge as far as I can tell, is finding that sweet spot where you’ve got the weight back far enough so that you can drive upward with it, but not holding it so far back that it hyperextends your shoulder and the bar goes rolling out of your hands to the floor behind you.

I made myself do the same thing I do with my kids when coaching baseball. Whenever you take batting practice you always end with a hit. You never send a kid out of the batters box on a swing and a miss. In order to give them confidence you always end a batting practice session with the kid putting the ball in play. So that’s what I did.

One more lift, hard focus and I pulled it off. Wasn’t pretty. To maintain the baseball analogy, I connected and put the ball in play. I didn’t hit it out of the park. Not even sure I got it out of the infield. But I put the bat on the ball. Coach Jack observed that it was ok. It was essentially correct. For today, that was enough. So now I know, I need lots of work, but I get it.

So then I stripped the weight from the bar and went back to practicing consistency and form with very little concern for intensity. I just kept practicing the motions repeatedly until it was time to begin the METCON. It was the right choice. By the end of the session, I at least felt like I understood the sequence of events and the order their supposed to happen. Still need lots of practice, but it will come.

I really got a kick out of the METCON. First, it’s the first time I’ve been able to complete a METCON as prescribed! I took a really silly sense of pride in adding that little Rx after my name and time on the whiteboard. That was a nice way to end the week! The METCON was:

15 MIN AMRAP
250M Row
10 Wall Ball (20lb)
10 Burpees

I got through 5 full rounds plus about 100M on a 6th row. I was very pleased with that. All sets for all exercises were uninterrupted. The main reason I think I enjoyed this workout was because it incorporated two exercises that will be part of FGB6. The row and the wall ball are both going to be part of that event, so in a small way, I was thinking of this as a prep WOD for that day. I know FGB6 has three other exercises in it and the format is different, but it still feels like today was a small dose of medicines to come and it was manageable.

Gave me some insight into transitions too. I have to figure out how to get into and out of the rowing machine faster/smoother. If I’m all strapped in tight, I was stumbling trying to get my feet unhooked, etc. If I’m not strapped in tight, then I’m not rowing effectively because my feet bounce off the foot plates on the drive back. Gotta find a middle ground there. That may be relevant during Fight Gone Bad

Coach Paul — if you read this. I heard you shout encouragement and direction while I was on the rower, but I didn’t pick up on it in the noise of the gym. What were you saying? If I heard right, it sounded like you were saying that the recovery (as I contract my legs and reset the rower handle) should take twice as long as the extension away from the machine? Is that right? What’s the logic behind that? Just know that I always appreciate the coaching but in the middle of the workout amid the noise, I didn’t hear the direction offered and didn’t get to follow up afterward. I wasn’t ignoring you.

