So yesterday was the day..Fight Gone Bad 6. A special workout in the Crossfit community hat along with the workout itself is a fundraiser to provide scholarships for the children of fallen special operations service members.

Here’s the workout as described on Crossfit Durham’s website:

“Fight Gone Bad”

In this workout you move from each of five stations after a minute. This is a five-minute round from which a one-minute break is allowed before repeating. The stations are:

1. Wall Ball: 20 pound ball, 10 ft target. (Reps)
2. Sumo Deadlift High Pull: 75 pounds (Reps)
3. Box Jump: 20″ box (Reps)
4. Push Press: 75 pounds (Reps)
5. Row: Calories (Calories)

The clock does not reset or stop between exercises. On call of “rotate,” athletes must move to next station immediately for good score. One point is given for each rep, except on the rower where each calorie is one point.

My family came out to cheer me and the other athletes on as we participated. That was remarkably awesome. Having Erin, the kids and my Dad in the gym, to lend support was amazing. Having my brother Daren travel down from Virginia to stand in as my counter and coach for the morning was beyond fantastic. It’s really difficult for me to find the words to express how meaningful it was. But Daren, “Thanks” and wear your Brute Squad T-shirt with pride. I certainly will.

Completing Fight Gone Bad as prescribed was a goal I set for myself as soon as the workout was published back on June 1st, but I wasn’t really sure I could do it. Daren and I even talked yesterday as we watched athletes in the third round of the first heat powering through. I told him, “OK, seeing how gassed some of those folks are is intimidating. I know just how much stronger than me they all are.”  He answered, “I wasn’t going to say anything, but now that you bring it up, you sure you don’t want to reconsider scaling this? Ultimately, you’ve got to ask yourself. What’s the goal here? To get a valuable work out, or to do it as prescribed.” I mulled it over a bit and answered, “the goal has always been to do it as prescribed. That’s how we do it.”  And I’m really glad we did. If we hadn’t, I’d have spent a lot of time after wondering “what if? Could I have done it Rx?”

I went into it thinking, “I want to pace myself carefully the first round. Set good base scores and then for the second and third rounds add one rep to each exercise.” So if I did 20 wall balls the first set, do 21 the second set, and 22 the third set. It seemed sound in theory. As soon as the clock started, all strategy went completely out the window. It was simply “just keep freakin’ moving, and don’t let the kids see you crying. It’ll scare them.”

My scores by exercise were all over the map. And in looking back at it today, there were quite a few suprises. Wall Ball were by far my strongest exercise. I did not anticipate that. I opted to do Sumo Kettle Bell Swings as Dave suggested since he pointed out that it’s a safer alternative on the shoulders and would still qualify as Rx as long as we used the 70lb kettle bells. I really did not expect the push presses to give me as much trouble as they did. I expected to get more reps out of those. But in the end, the 247 I scored was far better than anything I had hoped for.

Going in, I thought 200 would be a respectable performance and anything beyond that would have been gravy. I’m extremely satisfied with my performance. To the point where I honestly view myself as a crossfitter now. But that’s a separate story.

