One of those tough days where it’s tough to reconcile the results of the WOD and figure out how I feel about it.

We worked kettle bell swings and high pulls for awhile. That was fine. We didn’t spend too much time on it though because we knew there was a 20 minute METCON planned that involved lots of toys. So there was lots of set up before hand.

METCON
Tabata Fight Gone Bad
Complete 40 intervals of 20 seconds of work followed by ten seconds of rest. Perform 8 consecutive intervals of each of the following exercises:
Wall Ball (20/12)
KB High Pull (70/52)
Box Jump (20?)
Push Press (75/45)
Row (Calories)

I was really psyched when I saw this last night. Fight Gone Bad is still one of my most favorite workouts. It’s grueling, but I really enjoy it. It’s another one of the few WODs that I can do RX, so there’s that boost.

This version is different though because of the formatting. 8 rounds alternating between 20 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds of rest. So that’s 160 seconds, or 2.6 total minutes of work, per exercise.  Multiply that by 5 exercises and you’re talking about 13.3 minutes where you’re in motion right? No, really, check my math. That bit me in the backside this morning too. More on that further on.

If you remember FGB, the format is one minute of exercise at each station, for 5 minutes of work. Athletes then rest one minute and then go through all the exercises using that format two more times. So it’s a 17 minute workout, with 15 minutes of motion.

I deliberately ignored checking my old FGB6 score from back in September. I didn’t want any preconceived goals or numbers in my head. I just wanted to attack this WOD and see how I could do. My hope was that this score would simply be higher than last time.

So here’s how it all added up:
Wall Balls – 9-9-8-8-7-8-8-8 – That’s 65 right? Somehow I came up with 68 at the gym.
High Pulls – 10-10-8-7-8-7-5-6 – That’s 61 right? Hope so. It’s what I keep coming up with.
Box Jumps – 7-7-5-6-7-6-6-7 – That’s 51, correct? Yeah, it came out to 47 at the gym.
Push Press – 6-7-7-5-6-6-5-4 – Please tell me that’s 46. It’s been 46 all morning.
Row – total calories 36

So now, if you add up my “gym scores” (the ones I tallied up immediately after the WOD) of 68+61+47+46+36=258 (right?) Yeah, well in my oxygen deprived state it added up and I recorded it as 267. I don’t know how I came up with that, but I came clean on the website announcing my error.

Now, if we add up my “true scores” of 65+61+51+46+36=259. Yes? Please say yes. So what have we proven with all of this? With regards to fitness? Nothing yet, but we have reinforced one more time why I’m in Marketing and not teaching arithmetic somewhere. Remember, I got into Journalisma and eventually advertising because there was no math!

So now, in terms of fitness, what have we learned? Have I improved? Tough for me to call. Now we’re talking about oranges and tangerines.

After the WOD, I went and checked my FGB6 score. I got a 247, back on Sept 17. Today, 259. That’s improvement but pretty meager in my opinion. I would have preferred to see a much larger differential there. I mean it’s only 4%. It’s right about here I’m really wishing that the 267 that I’d been preening over all morning were true. Then I think about the time factor. We had roughly 12% less time spent in motion in today’s WOD. So that means overall, I did more work in less time. That indicates improvement. It’s tough to quantify how much improvement, but it’s evident.

The format also makes a difference, too. Staying at one exercise for 8 rounds using the Tabata format was VERY different from one straight minute at each exercise and doing the exercises as a circuit. But I don’t know how to quantify that either. See what I mean? Same exercises, same loads, different time, different format. Oranges and tangerines.

In the end, it’s just not linear enough to draw conclusions so it’s tough to gauge. Overall, I guess it’s enough to say that I did better than last time and I’m proud of that. Yup. That’s my story and I’m sticking with it.

On a lighter note: it turns out you can capsize a rowing machine. Well, that’s overstating it a bit. In my first set on the rower, I tried very hard to explode backwards on my first pull. Unfortunately, I was lazy about transitioning onto the machine. I didn’t take the time to strap my feet into the foot plates. When I exploded backwards, I lifted my backside off the seat. The result being my body shot backward. The seat did not. I ended up momentarily sitting on the rail that the seat slides back and forth on. It’s a narrow rail though and my backside is NOT. I rolled off onto the floor. I did the only thing I could think to do. I called out to the rowers next to me, “Man overboard!” My form never really recovered on the subsequent sets. That’s apparent because after the WOD more than one of the 6:15’ers offered rowing tips and lessons the next time we’re in the gym together. Ah well.

No Crossfit Durham WOD for me on Friday. The family has to be at Whirlwind’s school early for an assembly. The 30 minute round trip time makes the logistics too complicated. However, I’m still planning on working out. I’m honoring my Halloween candy burpee penalty of 5 burpees for every piece of leftover Halloween candy that I eat. I owe myself 50 burpees so far. Also, we ran out of time post-WOD today for me to honor one of my November goals to run an extra 800M at each WOD. Since I would have run an 800M tomorrow if I were at the gym, I’m making my own post-Halloween WOD. 50 burpees and 1600M for time! Of course the burpee count could change depending on how the rest of my day goes. 😉

