Today was a strong day. Very pleased. Spent the day climbing the ladder doing jerks mostly in 20 lb increments. Did 20+ reps during the METCON.

Coach Stew lead us through some kettle bell and PVC streteches and reviewed both the press and jerk lifts highlighting the commonalities between them. Chalk it up to being in the gym at 6:15 on a Friday morning, but it took me a while to catch up mentally and understand why Stew was walking us through the press when the lift of the day was the jerk. Eventually, I caught on though. He’s absolutely correct that they have much in common.

We also reviewed the Turkish Get Up as it was going to be the only exercise of the METCON. More on that later. Two exercises for the day. Doesn’t get much more straight forward than this one.

WOD for Friday 120211
Jerk
1-1-1-1-1-1-1

In checking my journal on this lift, I hadn’t worked on the jerk in a strength session since Aug 30. On that day I lifted 140# doing the split jerk. I was very eager to see what kind of progress I’ve made here, so I was pretty sure that’s the lift I was going to concentrate on. After warm ups today, I was very sure that’s what I wanted to do. Push press is a bit funky with that dip-drive-dip-stand. I’m much more comfortable with the split. Fortunately, my lifting partner Craig also agreed. We did 95, 115, 125 all pretty quickly.  For some reason out of all the lifts that require you to get your body under the bar and lock it out over your head, as opposed to pushing the bar up, I’m most comfortable with this one. I started to try and analyze that and then Coach Jack’s words came back to me, “get out of your head.” I quickly decided, “screw it. It feels good. It feels stable. Just go with it and see how far you can take it.”

From 125 I went to 145. This would be a new PR and the lift went very well. I celebrated the PR with Craig, but didn’t make the trip across the box to ring the cow bell. I intended to do it when I completed my last successful lift and could tell folks where I maxed out. I never did get to that though. 145 lbs felt good enough that I quickly went to get 20 more pounds and went after 165. There was a bit of a wobble on that one, but it was still pretty solid and it was a good lift. I told Craig I was feeling sassy and wanted more weight. When I told him I wanted 20 more pounds he laughed and agreed that yeah, I was feeling sassy. 185 pounds was tough, but it went up and stayed up! That’s a new PR by a 45lb improvement! I was REALLY tempted to go for 20 more pounds and try and break the 200 mark. But Coach Stew was encouraging folks to prepare for the METCON and as I told Craig at the time, “I’m gonna practice what I preach. I always tell my baseball players they have to end with a hit. You end every batting practice session by connecting with a pitch and putting the ball in play. I’m walking out of the box with a hit.”

METCON
AMRAP in 10 minutes:
Turkish Get Ups (as heavy as possible)
Do as many reps as possible without sacrificing form or safety

I also tried to apply Coach Jack’s previous advice about challenging myself with kettle bells and dumb bells here as well. I took a 40 lb dumb bell for the METCON.

I was able to do 11 reps with each arm on this exercise. I never stopped for the full 10 minutes. Reps 9, 10, and 11 on the left arm were pretty shaky. Shaky enough that I started to worry about dropping 40lbs on my head. As I was simultaneously concentrating on the motions of the rep, I was also planning my escape route. I was very conscious of who was lifting to my right. Checking to see what stage of their lift they were in and exactly how far away they were from me. I figured if things really got ugly, with that weight up in the air on my left side I was going to be bailing out and rolling to my right. Never had to do it though. My right side was definitely stronger. I never felt unstable there. Makes me wonder how to train it next time. Do I increase weight overall and go to a single heavier kettle bell to tax both sides understanding that my left side will burn up much quicker? Do I use two kettle bells? 40 for the left and 44 for the right? Just keep working the 40 for a while? Not really sure. It’s relevant because technically, there was no requirement to alternate arms in this METCON. If I wanted to, I could have elected to stay with my right arm late in the METCON when my left got shaky and I had to slow down. This likely would have improved my speed and added up to more reps, but I wanted to stay balanced. I guess you could make the case that next time, I could stay with the same weight and do 2 reps weak side for every 1 rep strong side until the week side failed?

It was a bit funky only having one exercise to focus on for the METCON. I kept asking myself, “ok, what’s next” at the end of every rep thinking I had to transition to something else. Just had to keep reminding myself, “Oh yeah. There is nothing else. Just do it again.” Huh. Just realized now that since there was no assigned weight for the TGU’s then technically speaking I did this WOD Rx?! That’s cool!

