Pretty solid workout today. Not much to get excited about, but a good day.

Coach Stew lead us through a head to toe yoga warm up. I liked it. It’s good for me to periodically put everything from the top of my head to tips of my toes in motion one piece at a time. Too often when left to my own devices, I’ll concentrate on the area of the body that the day’s WOD focuses on at the exclusion of the rest of my body. Short-sighted on my part I know, but it happens. Today’s a great example. Today’s WOD was primarily about shoulders, but I was surprised to discover while warming up doing squats that my legs felt very slow, heavy and tired today, even after 5 days rest. That was relevant during the push press.

WOD for Wednesday 121411
Strength
Push Press
3-3-3-3-3

I skipped the gym Monday and Tuesday because I was under the weather. Not “call in sick” bad, but off. I figured it was better gym etiquette to keep my germs confined to my own home. I also figured giving my body the additional down time was going to be more conducive to recovery rather than further punishment at the gym. I kept that in mind as I went to the gym today and figured I wasn’t going to go all balls out today. I wanted to maintain some control.

Craig and I worked from 75 to 135 on the push press. I was able to do all reps successfully. 135#  is just beyond 80% of my 1RM, so it was a solid target for the day. Coach Stew was keeping a close eye on us which is always appreciated. His number one concern for me was “keeping my chin down.” See, push press is tricky. If you’ve shelved the bar correctly, and you truly lift it straight up off that shelf, then it’s directly under your chin. Pushing the bar straight up and failing to relocate your chin temporarily results in great pain. My naturally tendency is to lift my chin up as I tilt my head back.

I’ve been instructed on more than one occasion that the preferred technique is to keep your eyes and face forward and to momentarily pull your whole head back laterally, then return it to it’s normal position once the bar clears your skill. Just need more practice to make it habit. My natural tendency is to look up. I’ll get there.

METCON
3 Round For Time:
3 Muscle Ups (sub 25 pullups and 25 dips per round)
50 Situps

Stew let us substitute ring rows for the pull ups on this METCON. The justification being ring rows better approximate the first part of a muscle up. My first impression was that he was letting us off the hook. My logic was when doing ring dips our feet would be planted on the floor at all times, so I wouldn’t truly be lifting all of my weight. In my inexperienced mind, that should be an easier exercise than a pull up. I was wrong. I will testify that my shoulders and chest are just as smoked right now as if I’d done 75 pull ups with my typical 2 band assistance. Maybe more so because I didn’t use any bands for ring dips and it’s a slightly different group of muscles that I don’t think I tax as often. Lesson learned there are no “gimmees” in Crossfit.

Ring dips were all done with a single fat red band. I took my time concentrating on form and stability to prevent any further instances of getting slapped with the band in very sensitive places. While I did avoid that, somehow on one rep I got my weight far too far forward and nearly launched myself out of the rings. Fortunately a strong grip and the band catching on the tongue of my sneaker as I lurched forward prevented any catastrophes.

Final time on the METCON 17:08. That was not within Coach Stew’s stated goal of all athletes finishing in 15 min. I’m blaming that at least in part on the Digital Underground and the Humpty Dance. Somewhere in my second set of sit ups, I got caught up in the music and lost count. I was cruising along, “14, 15, 16. My name is Humpty. Pronounced with an Umpty. 20. No, wait. That’s not right….CRAP!…ONE! TWO!” I also no repped myself a few times during my third set because I didn’t keep the soles of my feet together. The sit ups alone didn’t make the difference in not finishing before 15 min, but it didn’t help.

Good work out and good times.

