That’s how I ended up after today’s METCON. Down on all fours on the floor gasping for air…but I’m getting ahead of myself.

WOD for Friday 021012
Snatch
3-3-3-1-1-1

Quick note about warm ups. We rowed 500M three times. First time easy. Second time moderate. Third round go for broke and see what your PR could be. Don’t have a record of a PR for rowing. Pleased to say I did the final 500M in 1:49. I consider that solid. But I do need more practice and coaching. Brandon was rowing next to me and showed me how he’s covering that same distance faster, but using a slower strokes per minute pace that conserves energy. I need to get to that stage.

Snatches are tough. Always have been. I expect they always will be. Not going to dwell on them too long today except to say that the highest weight I could call close to technically correct was 105. I tried 115 and it stayed up, but it was all kinds of sloppy. It was just one of those mornings. The biggest challenge was even the problems were inconsistent. One of those days where I never made the same mistake twice. Just weird.

I will say that this week and this morning in particular have convinced me that I’m going to invest the $100 in quality weightlifting shoes. I’ve held off because post holiday we’ve been doing some cleaning and I’m coming across racquetball gear I haven’t used in years and other such equipment. I didn’t want to invest the money in something that was going to sit unused. But after this week, I’ve changed my mindset and we’ll file it under having the right tools for the job. I’m not giving up crossfit any time soon, so it’s a worthwhile investment.

METCON
1 Round For Max Reps (30 seconds between movements):
1 minute Rowing (calories)
1 minute Wall Ball (20/14)
1 minute DB Ground to Overhead (40/25)
1 minute Box Jump (24/20)
1 minute Ball Slam (30/20)

I love METCONS like this one. This was  one of those “turn up the juice and see what shakes loose” workouts. One explosive all out minute right after another. Don’t think too much. Don’t worry about strategy. Just go until Coach Stew calls “Time. Rotate.” This one was just keep moving.

I was almost Rx for this one too. I scaled the dumbbells to 35 rather than 40, otherwise everything else was Rx. Final score was a satisfying 103.

  • I rowed 22 cals in the first minute
  • Did 23 Wall Balls. It’s been a long time since I’ve done Wall Balls and it showed. No repped two counts. One was short of the 10′ mark. One I plain missed the wall. I ask you. How in hell can one miss a cinderblock wall?! Doesn’t seem possible, but I did it.
  • Pulled of 13 reps of DB Ground to Overhead. This was a combination, deadlift, curl press action. Not a single organized exercise. This was pick ’em up and put ’em down. Nothing more.
  • Box Jumps — 16. Would have liked a few more here. But was flattered after the WOD when one of the folks taking part in the 7:15 WOD complimented me on doing them Rx.
  • Ball Slam — 27 reps! What can I say. It’s Ball Slams. I always love ball slams.

When Stew called time I collapsed to the floor. I was spent and it felt fantastic! Great WOD to lead into the weekend. Little disappointed that Erin and I won’t be able to take part in the Valentine’s Challenge this weekend. We both really wanted to do it, but if we’re both taking part in the challenge, then there’s no one to look after the kids. Ah well. Maybe next year.

