Today was the first time working out under the guidance of Coach Ashley T as she takes over some of the 6:15 sessions. Any day someone shows me something new and it helps me accomplish something I couldn’t do the day before, that’s a good day. Today was a good day.

WOD for Thursday 031512
Parallette Shoot Throughs
50 Strict Reps

I SO wanted to do shoot throughs, but wrist splint says, “NO.” Ashley and I originally discussed doing “kettle bell” work, but I wasn’t in the mood. I figured odds were I was going to end up using a kettle bell for the METCON and since other folks were doing a gymnastics move, I’d try to find something gymnast-esque. I settled on pistols.

I grabbed a 17″ box and worked sets of 2 reps each leg. A couple of sets into it, Ashley suggested that I use a kettle bell as a counterbalance to prevent me from sitting too far back. See how this works? Even if I’m not doing kettle bell work, I’m still using a kettle bell. I’m telling you, my relationship with the kettle bell rack at this stage is safely qualified as “intimate.”

So I tried it. With an 18lb kettle bell held forward in outstretched arms I tried the pistol again. It really helped. I did 2 sets of 2 reps each leg and really felt stable.

Solid enough that I tried a right leg pistol without the box…and planted myself on my ass. We talked that over and Ashley’s remedy was a bigger kettle bell. At that point, I scolded her, “What is it with you coaches? That’s your remedy for everything! Something doesn’t work, add more weight.” She knew I was joking, but stood by her assertion. So I traded the 18lb for a 30lb kettle bell. No surprise here, the coach was right. I was able to get just a few inches lower than a 17″ box and stand it back up with that weight. It was very cool! Next time I may try working with a 12″ box.

This is one of the reasons I really like having different coaches and I’m excited that Ashley’s taking over some of the 6:15 sessions. I enjoy working out under the observation and guidance of a lot of coaches. It’s the main reason I’ll go to a different workout session any time my schedule will allow it. Each coach sees things a bit differently and has unique perspectives/tips/tricks to help us out. CrossFit is supposed to be constantly varied, right? From my perspective that includes the coaching too.

METCON
5 Rounds For Time:
10 Deadlifts (225/155)
20 Box Jumps (24/20)
30 Double Unders

We modified the deadlifts to be landmine “suitcase” deadlifts done right-handed at 115#.  We anchored one end of the bar in the landmine sleeve and loaded 70# on it. Now as I understand it, if I’d done true suitcase deadlifts, I should have been turned 90 degrees to the bar so that it was at my right side. However, I did these lifts facing the bar same as I would a strict deadlift. Just did them one-handed. The proper name is no big deal, I guess. It was still a solid work out no matter what you call it.

Box jumps were all done Rx. I took the 3:1 substitution and did single unders. Yes! Sh-h-h-h-h! I jumped rope today. Don’t tell Erin or my OT! I was so focused on being aware of my wrist that I didn’t even attempt many double unders. I just tried to go fast and be aware of any problems. Actually, the wrist felt really good. First few reps during warm ups ached, but the wrist and thumb loosened up pretty quickly and then it felt fine.

Final time for the WOD: 16:04

