I’m a bit behind. Here are some thoughts on Friday’s WOD. More and more I’m learning I really appreciate and enjoy the simple WODS, even though they’re the ones that seem to hurt most. 😉

WOD for Friday 060112
Push Press
Establish 1RM

This is one on a very short list of lifts that I feel comfortable with and confident in. I PR’d at 190# (a 5# gain) by the time we were done.

I missed the first shot at 190, not because of the weight, but because of technique. I was leaning forward and pushed the bar away from me as I was pushing up. Didn’t have the strength to do both. Once Ashley straightened me out the second attempt was pretty solid.

METCON
4 Rounds For Time:
50m Backwards Crabwalk
20 1-legged Pushups

This was a playground WOD and I say that with affection and respect. I’m not being smart, snarky or demeaning here. I absolutely love these types of WODs. These are the ones that remind me what I love about this gym and Crossfit as a whole. Some days ya just gotta get out there and play. Recess for grown up, friends. Recess for grown ups. Admit it. It’s easy to imagine a conversation like the following taking place on any playground at recess. Maybe you were involved in a few growing up. I know I was.

“C’mon I’ll race ya. We’ll crabwalk backwards across the playground and see who’s fastest.”

“OK, we’ll go from the slide to the monkey bars and back and you have to do pushups on each end.”

“Yeah, but not just regular pushups. You have to cross one foot on top of the other so they’re one legged pushups.”

“Cool, and we have to do the whole thing 4 times!”

“Yeah!”

See? These are the WODs that remind me how much of CrossFit is pure play and why it’s so important. All of the lifts, gymanastics maneuvers etc are awesome and important and effective. But days like this where we just get on out and play are my favorites. I can’t speak for anyone else, but I stick with this because it’s fun. If it wasn’t fun, I sure as hell wouldn’t get up at 5:15am 4 days a week. I’m not THAT strong. Well, I’m not that kind of strong.

Finished this one in 12:12 and my arms were SMOKED when it was done. Going into it, it didn’t occur to me that our arms were never going to get a break. The only thing I wish I’d done different would have been to tape both wrists. I still tape my left wrist, but that’s more out of habit now than necessity. Taping the wrist is part of my morning gym ritual.  With this WOD backpedalling on our hands so much, I noticed at the end that the right wrist was pretty sore. Ah well, lesson learned. I still left the gym grinning like an elementary school kid after recess…and I didn’t even win the race.

