Another great day learning new variations on standard exercises and a smoker of a workout. Can’t go wrong with that.

WOD for Tuesday 061212
Deadlift
12 sets of 1 rep @65% 1RM
Rest no more than 60 seconds between sets

As we were getting set up for this portion of the WOD, Jack was reviewing the day’s directions, he made the offer, “and if anyone wants to try the deadlifts banded, come see me.” Well, ok then. Yes, please. Let’s do it.

Jack set up a station for me with the bands anchored at the base of the posts for the rack. Picture a band running north to south between two posts on either side of a lifting rack, then insert the bar under the bands running east to west centered between the four posts. Am I explaining that well? It makes sense to me.

First lesson learned– working this way is an education in grip strength. You know how sometimes when you warm up with a bare bar your concentration isn’t all there and maybe your grip may not be 100%? Yeah, the first rep almost got yanked clean out of my hands before I got it above my knees. “OK. Note to self. Hold on tight.”

Second lesson learned– there’s no break in these lifts. Thank goodness we were only doing singles. With the constant band tension there’s no point during the lift where you’re not fighting the combination of gravity and tension. That was a pretty interesting sensation.

Worked all reps at 205# just under 60% of my 1RM. It was plenty of weight. I was still able to do fast singles. Perhaps not one second up and down, but still reasonably explosive. With the bands hauling the bar back to the floor, I was real quick on the downs! 😉

METCON
For Time:
Run 400m
50 Double Unders
Run 400m
40 Double Unders
Run 400m
30 Double Unders
Run 400m
20 Double Unders

My runs felt good. Not fast, not strong, but good. I was disappointed in how inconsistent the splits were. The first run came in under 1:40. The other three were all between 2:20 and 2:30. I’d feel more satisfied if I could have pulled all runs in between 2:10 and 2:15. Still, the form itself felt good.

Double Unders were not as strong today as they were last week. I did only count successful DU’s today. No counting attempts. I think I strung a 5 rep run together one time. Everything else was 2 or 3 rep runs. This chewed up a LOT of clock. But I’m good with it. I do feel like they continue to come along.

Finisher:
100 Banded Good Mornings — I chose a red band and broke the 100 reps into 5 sets of 20. All sets were done unbroken. The first two sets were done with feet hip width. The next two with feet shoulder-width and the final set with feet just slightly wider than shoulder width apart.

This will sound odd to the unfamiliar, (and it probably doesn’t matter to anyone but me) but the most notable part of the finisher is that for the first time in a year of crossfitting I went shirtless in a WOD. Yup, it finally happened. The shirt came off. It had to.

I was wearing a cotton T-shirt. With the humidity today and the way I sweat, it was SATURATED by the time we got to the good mornnings. Every time I stood up that clammy slimy shirt would slap against me. Ugh! Nasty. It was just too gross to go on. Plus it felt like it weighed an extra 5 pounds. So after the second set of 20 I ditched the shirt. Next time I’ll have to give more thought to what I’m wearing so I won’t have to do that. Afterall, we’ve got a long hot summer ahead of us.

I always keep a spare shirt in my bag, so I don’t leech too much sweat into the car’s interior driving home. I was very quick to throw it on as soon as the good mornings were complete.

I know the house rule at CFD is “No shirt, no problem.” It’s just not my style. I’m not there yet.

