Battling a case of the “don’ wannas.” You know that place where you “don’t wanna” do much of anything? It’s been one of those days. Didn’t sleep great last night and it feels like an end of Summer cold may be sneaking up on me. No big deal. It’ll pass.

Can honestly say that if Jess hadn’t been expecting me for a lift to the gym, I’d have taken a pass this morning. Even “Funky Shorts Friday” was pretty subdued today.

Which is a bit of a bummer. On paper I really liked the look of this WOD.

WOD for Thursday 081712
“The Durham 150”
20 Pullups
25 Deadlift (135/95)
15 Floor Wipers
25 Pushups
20 Box Jumps (24/20)
25 KB Swings (52/35)
20 Pullups

This is, I expect, the last of the retro week wods, where CFD has been reliving the programming from the very first week the box was open 4 years ago. In spite of my case of the blahs, this WOD was still pretty entertaining.

Floor wipers are an ass-kicker of an exercise. If you want to see a video of how their done, go here.  Basically, lie on your back under a bar and do a floor press. Now with the barbell locked out over your body pike your body and swing your extended legs around and make your toes touch the bar on one end. Trick is the bar’s not supposed to travel to meet your toes. Once you touch one side of the bar swing your legs down and around so that as they pass straight out in front of you your heels pass as close as possible to the floor with out touching. Swing the feet up to touch the opposite side of the bar. Repeat. One rep is complete when you return back to the side you touched first. These are TOUGH for me.

I did the deadlifts Rx, but set up the bar with a 25#, 15# and 5# plate on each side. I was certain that I wanted nothing to do with holding that 135# bar locked out over my chest while trying to get through the floor wipers. Thinking about it now, this was the only portion of the WOD I did unbroken. I sure as hell wasn’t going to set the bar down on my chest and press it again.

First round of pull ups were done 10, 5, 5 unassisted. Deadlifts were broken up. Should have gone unbroken, but any time pull ups and deadlifts are back to back in either order, that’s always hell on the grip. Pushups were done 10, 10, 5. They should have been much closer to unbroken. KB swings went something like 15, 5, 5. They should not have taken 3 sets. Last set of pullups were 5 kipping, then jumping pullups for the duration.

Finished this one in 10:38 today. Not a great time, but given the funk going into the day, I’ll take it.

I saw this photo today on Facebook

DNF Apparel Double Under Skeptic

Courtesy of DNF Apparel

You can check out their site here or their FB page It kind of stung and simultaneously made me smile. To me it serves as a great reminder to keep things in perspective. Have fun. Celebrate the victories and accomplishments. Attend to the goats and the challenges, but keep it all in perspective. This is still at it’s core recess for grown ups. It’s my chance each day to get out of the house, hang out with my friends and run around like a lunatic for an hour. It’s possible I’ve been taking this all a bit too seriously lately.

