Spent the morning resisting the tempatation to “go big”. For once I listened to my body. It’s too soon to know if I’m going to be rewarded for being judicious or not.

WOD for Friday 082412
Banded Deadlifts
12 sets of 2 reps – with 60 seconds rest

Dynamic effort day, yay! I like these days a lot. Was lucky enough to work with a gym guest today too. Poor fella must have thought he got stuck working with the class clown too. It was funky Friday again and I went all out. Jamz shorts, clashing Hawaiian pattern shirt, bright yellow Innov-8’s and bright blue t-shirt. I was a vision! Trust me. Even the camera couldn’t handle me. That’s why there are no pictures. Anyway. I tried to be welcoming and earnest about the lifting so Mike didn’t feel like he got stuck with some knuckle head. We had a pretty good time.

Guidance for the day was work at 50% of 1RM and use a band, likely no more than a blue band, for the resistance. We did the requesite 12 sets of 2 at 165# plus the red band, just a touch under a true 50% of my 1RM. It was plenty heavy and effective. The speed of the lifts felt very good.

In the past when we’ve done banded deadlifts, we’ve always worked in groups and anchored the bands to the posts of the pull up rig. Today’s technique was different. We laid the band long ways across the bar between the plates forming two U’s on either side of the bar allowing it to hang down to the floor.

As you step up to the bar, position your feet on the band anchoring it down. The ends of the band should be over the top of the bar and outside of your hands. When you lift, you are now your own anchor. The band goes taut over the bar and under your feet. I like  this technique a lot.

For a hack like me who continually wants to get too far foward on most of my lifts including the deadlift, this technique automatically forces you back into your heels. The bands are pulling up against the balls of your feet so it rocks you back into your heels.

METCON
9-6-3 Reps For Time:
Front Squat (185/105)
Muscle Ups

So direction was the “lifts should be heavy”. 185# or 80% of your 1RM Front Squat. My 1RM right now is 300#. 80% of that would have been 240#. There was no going anywhere near 240# today.  My legs all around the knees are very achy and my hips are super tight today. It’s not bad pain. It’s the pain of a solid week of training, but it meant I had to back off a bit today. Renee observed as I warmed up with a couple squats at 135#. She asked about my current 1RM and confirmed that I could be lifting heavier. I explained that it just wasn’t meant to be today. I was sufficiently uncomfortable scaledd at 135#. I tried to stay smart, check my ego and listen to my body. Some days I can be smart. It was plenty of weight.

For the front squats, I didn’t put the bar down during the first round, but it wasn’t quite unbroken either. Round of 6 went as a set of 4 and two and I had to drop the bar. Round of 3 was unbroken. My intent/goal was to do all rounds unbroken, so not quite successful there. That’s why they’re goals.  Some days you don’t reach them.

Muscle Ups were tough today. During the WOD I couldn’t udnderstand why they seemed so much tougher than previous WODs. But after reviewing some earlier posts I understand why and I’m relieved. Earlier this month I talked about how we did muscle ups and I was thinking about switching bands. At the time I was contemplating switching from a blue band to the thinner red band.

Well, this morning I did use a red band. It wasn’t a conscious choice to make things harder or test myself. I went into the WOD thinking the red band was what I always use. I really ought to read this blog more often. 😉

Anyway, the good news is I was able to do the requisite reps with less assistance. However, it was a huge struggle to do so. Talk about being uncomfortable. The red band is definitely the right answer to continue to get stronger but these are going to be really tough to adjust to for a while. But overall I’m satisfied and pleased because it is forward progress.

Finisher:
Banded Good Mornings
100 Reps

I did these with a blue band concentrating very hard on keeping a flat back. Worked through them pretty quickly. Sets were done 30, 30, 20, 20. Never took the band off.

It’s been a heck of a week. I’m looking forward to seeing what the next week holds.

