Can’t complain about a WOD if you set a new 1RM. Still, there’s plenty of work to do to get more efficient at things.

WOD for Monday 092412
Floor Press
Establish 1RM

Worked with Brian today. We both had a solid morning.

Sets went 95# x 3, 135# x 3. We agreed that all sets after 135 were going to be single reps. We did singles at 155, 175, 185, 195, and 215.

Things seemed solid at 215# and I floor pressed 225# back in July. That 225# is the only record I have of doing this lift previously. We had time and I felt like taking a shot at 230# to set a new 1RM.

We loaded up the bar and after a bit of confusion on my part realized we were up to 235# and I was on my way to loading it up as 245#! Monday morning math, blech.

We stopped, recalculated and agreed that the last lift had been 215# and now it was actually 235#. That was more than I intended to lift.I seriously questioned whether I’d be able to lift it or not, but after some deliberation decided to take a shot at it.

It was a very difficult lift and while Brian did have his hands positioned under the bar ready to assist if I needed it, it was my lift. I got stalled about 2/3rds of the way to the top and had to grind through it, but it went up. Very pleased with that lift.

METCON
For Time:
9 Hang Power Cleans (185/115)
15 Toes To Bar
6 Hang Power Cleans
15 Toes To Bar
3 Hang Power Cleans
15 Toes To Bar

Power cleans were done at 135#. Set one went 7 reps and 2 reps. Third set went 3 and 3. Final set, I never put the bar down, but took long pauses with the bar resting on my hips between reps to visualize the next rep and catch my breath.

I was a bit discouraged by my toes to bars (TTB). I got 15 reps the first round, broken into sets that I can’t recall. The second round I got 8 good TTB, then finished with Knees to Elbows (KTE). the third set started as KTE, but finished as knees near elbows.

It wasn’t very long ago that I was doing TTB on the floor. So today definitely represents progress, but my goal was to do all the reps strict. It wasn’t even close. Well, we just keep working. One thing is for sure. KTE and TTB both go on the “exercises to practice during spare time” list.

Have to figure out how to make both of them more efficient. I swing on very wide full body arcs doing both of those exercises, but more so during TTB. I’ve got to work out the muscle control and sequence to make them more linear and less circular.

Finisher:
Band Pull Aparts
100 reps

Pull aparts were done in 5 sets of 20 reps with a purple band. Can definitely feel these in the small muscles of my back as the day wears on.

Spare time: I grabbed a jump rope for double unders after the WOD. They just weren’t there today. In 5 minutes of practicing I never got a run of more than 5 reps at a time. For whatever reason the rope gods just weren’t favoring me this morning. It’s going to happen.

