A friend on Facebook said this better but it’s really true. I’m paraphrasing here: “A given weight on Friday weighs a whole lot more than that same weight on Monday!” I would add “especially bodyweight!”

WOD for Friday 100512
Deadlift – 90% 1RM      
1-1-1-1-1      

Worked through warm up weights pretty quickly in order to get to the designated 90% of 1RM. Did 1 set of 3 reps each at 135# and 185#. After that moved to 1 set of 2 reps at 225#, 255#. After that I did a single lift at 285# and then onto the target weight of 315#. I did 4 lifts. It was all I had the energy for given the time provided. I tried a 5th lift but failed. At that point it was time to move on.

METCON
5 Rounds For Time:
5 Snatch Grip Deadlift (155/100)
10 Knees to Elbows
15 Box Jumps (24/20)

Snatch grip deadlifts just feel weird. I believe this is the first time I’ve attempted them. I might be wrong about that. If I’ve done them before, it’s been quite a while. Having the hands spread so wide out on the bar just makes for some odd balance adjustments. I did these Rx and was able to do all rounds unbroken.

Box Jumps were done Rx. I didn’t miss any box jumps today, but can’t claim unbroken either. Most sets were. The fourth set though, I was getting T-I-R-E-D! I took a few pauses at the bottom of some reps to recover.

On at least one ocassion Coach Erin warned the whole group about making sure to land on the box with the entire foot. I received more than one individual warning/reminder over the course of the morning.

What can I say? It was getting harder and harder to get all the way up on that platform. See my note above about bodyweight! I really felt like my own body mass was increasing over the course of the METCON. I almost ditched my sweat soaked shirt mid-WOD to drop a couple of imaginary pounds, but didn’t.

Now, a question of standards on Box Jumps. In competition, would failing to get the entire foot on the platform get no-repped? Or is this a safety issue? Just curious. I was too oxygen deprived to ask at the time. I just tried to adjust as directed.

Knees to Elbows – I have mixed feelings about these today. Coach Erin gave us some great direction and tips on this exercise today. I don’t think I ever understood before that pulling the shoulders back makes it easier to make complete the rep. So thanks for that Coach! I also definitely got more true KTE reps than I have before, so that’s progress. I’d guess that an even half of the total 50 reps were to standard.

On the other hand, I really thought I should be capable of more than that. No excuses. Not gonna get worked up about it. Just need to keep working. But I thought I had a shot at going Rx across the board on this WOD. KTE’s just weren’t there.

Total time to complete: 13:27.

Finisher:
Banded KB Swings
50 reps

Did these with a 30# KB and a red band. Done in sets of 20, 10, 10, and 10. Hardest part of the entire thing was stringing up the kettle bell. For whatever reason, I absolutely could not work out a decent way to secure the band to the kettle bell. I tried wrapping it around the base of the handle. I tried to mimic some half hitch twist that I saw Kristen using. Couldn’t work that out. I was flummoxed.

Finally, someone was gracious enough to show me that if I did a simple loop around the handle the same way I’d loop it through the pull up rigs for pull ups, then I was off and running. Have to admit, I felt a bit sheepish about that. But hey, it was good for a chuckle.

It’s been a great week.

