So my FB status this morning read, “Deadlifts, ballslams and burpees? Monday, you spoil me.” I sincerely meant it. I was very excited for today’s WOD.

WOD for Monday 101512
Deadlift
Establish 1RM

Deadlifts like backsquats have vexed me for a while now. I’ve had some opportunities to test for 1RM’s and haven’t even been able to approach my current 350# PR.

I went in to the WOD this morning determined to best that number. I did some warm up sets of 3 lifts at 135# and 185#. From there I jumped to 225#, 275# followed and then up to 315# (I think). I left my WOD book at the box again today, so I’m working from memory here.

I think there was at least one more lift, but may be mistaken. Anyway, I advanced to 365#. It was a convenient jump from the last lift and seemed like an aggressive but attainable goal.

It was a tough lift and I almost stalled, but ultimately pulled it off. I was strong enough to set the weight back down carefully again as well. No lift and drop! Very cool!

METCON
For Time:
1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10 Ball Slams
10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 Burpees

This METCON is a favorite of mine. Although I confess, my burpees got sloppy. By the round of 7, I was dropping fast, shooting the feet out well, but the recovery was ugly.

Sort of rocked up onto my knees, then pulled my feet in under me, hopped and clapped. Not pretty.

Ball Slams as always were a blast. Done with a 30# slam ball.

Pleased to say that even though my burpees got sluggish, I worked this METCON pretty much straight through. I paused to grab a couple of breaths between each exercise set, but once a set started, it went unbroken.

Final finishing time 7:23

Finisher:
Turkish Get Ups
10 Reps each side

TGU’s were all done with a 44# kettle bell and went pretty smoothly.

All in all, it was a great WOD and when it was over, I had no guilt whatsoever about heading to the State Fair and enjoying the fare.

