Pretty good way to kick off the week.

WOD for Monday 102912
Front Squats
Establish 1RM

PR’d the Front Squat today adding 15# to my previous 1RM. Current 1RM now stands at 240#. Very satisfied with this.

I made an attempt at 250# but failed. No big deal.

I am laughing at myself because I’m participating in an informal “squat challenge” at CFD. In an effort to motivate each other a group of folks have all selected one squat lift (front or back) and agreed that the first person to increase their 1RM by 20% earns bragging rights.

For some very ill-advised reasons, I selected my back squat. I know why I did it. My ego got the better of me. Short of my deadlift, my back squat is my stronest lift in terms of raw pounds. I wanted to be motivated to continue to push that higher. The problem is 20% of 300 is 60#! I’m making progress on my back squat, but in very small increments!

If I had chosen my front squat, 20% of 225 (my 1RM when the challenge started) is 40#. I’d be much further along and much closer to “winning” this thing. Ah well, these are the choices we make.

METCON
3 Rounds For time:
15 Pullups
Run 200m
20 Thrusters (65/45)
Rest 1 minute between rounds

This was a tough METCON. Final time start to finish: 13:11.

First round of pull ups were done unassisted, kipping in 3 sets of 5 reps. Second and third sets I went to a red band. Don’t recall the breakdowns after that.

Runs were runs. It was a crisp (mid-40’s), misty day for running. I didn’t track splits this morning.

Thrusters were deceptively tough. 65# didn’t sound like a lot of weight. Evend doing 3 rounds of 20 for 60 reps didn’t sound that bad. However, that last round was NASTY! Where the first two rounds were accomplished as two sets of ten reps each, the last round was something like 10, 5 and 5. I think.

I know the first round ended at 3:07. The next round began at 4:07 and ended around 7:47. So that was 3:47 to compete the second round. Not an awful diference. The last round was ROUGH! The final round began at 8:47 and took a LONG time…5:24 to complete. Oof!

Still, it was a lot of fun. Curious to see what the rest fo the week holds.

