After 5 WOD’s this week, yesterday’s colossal deadlift effort and getting lapped repeatedly during today’s METCON, I’m looking forward to a restful weekend. Because of all of that though, it’s been a great week.

WOD for Friday 120712
Overhead Squat – 70% 1RM                       
2-2-2-2-2
Had the chance to work with young Nick today for this section of the WOD. Man, that kid is strong. He MIGHT be 2/3rds my weight and I’m frequently shocked at the lifts he can accomplish.

We worked through warm ups at 45 and 75 pounds then moved to 95# for our working weight for the 5 sets of two. Reps all felt pretty good this morning. Concentrated on remembering yesterday’s back squat cues to ‘screw my feet into the floor’ again today. Really seemed to help.

Hang Snatch
8-10 singles
These were done with the same 95# bar and went all right. Dropping quickly was a real challenge today. I missed one attempt, but no big deal. I believe I did just 8 successful lifts before moving onto the METCON.

METCON
AMRAP in 8 minutes:
4 Power Snatch (95/65) – done Rx
8 HSPU — Negatives — 1 AbMat and hands raised on 35# plates
12 Box Jumps (24/20) — Rx

It’s been a full and demanding week. I’ve definitely overdone it. Instead of feeling exercised, the body is feeling punished. Nothing serious, just some odd aches, creaks and such that aren’t usually there. It’s not a problem and it’s no one’s fault but my own. But that meant my only real goal this morning was to ‘keep moving.’ It’s just 8 minutes, I wanted to set a steady pace and not rest excessively between any exercises or stations.

I got confused doing the HSPU’s. Nick and I were on neighboring lifting platforms and were doing our handstand push ups side by side on the wall. He got the wall a step or two ahead of me. I started doing my negatives and he blew through all 8 HSPU’s before I was halfway finished!

He was so fast, I got flustered. I second guessed whether I had the rep count right in my head. I had to pause just a moment and check the white board to confirm that yes, we were required to do 8 reps. There’s no doubt in my mind he was dong the correct number of reps. He’s just that strong and fast. As I finished out that set I was thinking to myself, “Wow! I’m doing half the range of motion and he just smoked me.”

With the exception of that one pause, I’m pleased to say I met my goals to never stop. All reps went unbroken for 8 minutes and I moved briskly between stations. No stopping for chalk, gear, or to even track rounds. When the 8 minutes was up, I’d completed 3 complete rounds, a 4th set of snatches and 2 more negative HSPU’s. So 3 Rds + 6.

There are times when I wonder if the scheduling were available, if I could handle the 3 days on 1 day off training regimen that many crossfitters. After today, I can honestly say, “I’m not there yet.” I did WOD’s Sun-Tues, then Thurs and Friday this week. I’m perfectly content to take the next two days off. Have a great weekend friends. See ya Monday!

