Amid all the excitement of attempting a new Front Squat 1RM, all the encouragement in the world didn’t amount to the value of one quick simple gesture.

WOD for Monday 121012
Front Squat
Establish 1RM

Front squats are another I really enjoy. I was excited to work with Chad and Troie again. We joked about the fact that the last time the three of us worked together we all PR’d. Seemed like good mojo.

I’m going to jump ahead to the last lift. Going into today my 1RM was 240#. I came into the day with a goal of 245#.

After 225# I deliberated over what weight to do next. It’s always a challenge. Jump straight to 245# while still relatively fresh? But 20# when approaching the top of a lift’s range always seems like an intimidating jump. Or expend more energy on an in between lift like 235#? Ultimately, with Chad’s encouragement, I went straight to 245#

I was very careful, but prompt with my set up and the descent felt really good. I got stuck coming out of the hole and didn’t think I’d finish the lift. A bunch of folks were watching and were very encouraging. “Up!” “C’mon, Paul!” “You got this!” But I didn’t have it! Until out of the corner of my eyes, I saw Rachel put her hands under her chin and snap her arms up quickly into an exaggerated rack position.

It was then that I finally realized why I was stuck. I’d allowed my arms to drop. I mirrored her motion. Straightened up my posture and was able to finish the lift. So Rachel definitely gets the credit for salvaging that PR.

It’s interesting. While all of the encouragement that folks were shouting was, and always is, appreciated. It wasn’t doing me any good. There may have been people telling me, “elbows up.” But in the collection of noise around me I couldn’t hear it or filter it out to find it. I had to see Rachel’s gesture. It turned out to be the cue I needed this day to fix the problem.

METCON
AMRAP in 10 minutes:
45 Double Unders
7 Power Snatches (95/75)

Was able to do this one Rx, sort of. I did double unders, but they were awful! My first round took forever! That will happen when you’re doing 45 reps in 15 sets of 3 reps each!

Power snatches were ok. 95# on a Monday after 2 days of rest are very managable. Just couldn’t find any rhythm for the double unders. I think I had one run that went around 10 reps. My last round was actually my “best.” Picking up my rope with less than a minute to go, I knew that there was no way that I was going to finish, so I finally kind of relaxed. As a result, I had longer runs of 7-10 reps. Go figure.

In the end, 3 rounds with 35 double unders.

Not thrilled with it, but it’s going to be a long winter with lots of double unders, so there will be plenty of other chances to practice.

