2012 closed out with another CrossFit benchmark WOD. First time I’ve participated in this one. All in all, it went pretty well.

WOD for Monday 123112
“Nancy”
5 Rounds For Time:
Run 400m
15 Overhead Squats (95/65)

Knowing my 400M run times, I knew this was at least a 10 minute WOD, but I really didn’t know what to expect from the overhead squats.

My only goal on the day was to get through the METCON as prescribed. My strategy for the squats going in was to split the sets into 8 or 7 reps at a time.

However, the first set of squats felt very good and I ran that set 10 and 5 reps. The next three rounds were all split according to plan. 7 or 8 reps, drop the bar, 3 fast breaths, pick it up and go.

When I returned to the bar for the last round, Troie had already finished and probably showered, shaved and changed. The other athletes taking part were all out on the run behind me. This meant I had Coach Erin and Troie’s undivided attention. That actually worked to my advantage.

With their encouragement I got through the last round of squats not unbroken but with out putting down the bar. Surprised the hell out of me. Time to complete the WOD 19:20. Very satisfied with that. Nice to complete another benchmark WOD Rx to have a clear understanding of what’s possible.

I’ve been thinking about goals for the upcoming year. I’ve made mention of a few for specific lifts. I need to flesh a few more of those out in the coming weeks.

Happy New Year’s all. May it be a year full of laughter, health and peace of mind for all.

