Had a chance to do the benchmark WOD Annie again today. Didn’t go as well as I was hoping, but still I’m pretty satisfied.

WOD for Wednesday 010213
Moblity:  Hips, Calves, and Feet
We had a substitute coach today. Coach Paul was in the house! Very cool. Was great to see him. He always puts us through the most extensive, contortion-filled, groan-inducing warm ups. To his credit though when they’re over, I always feel remarkably looser and better prepared for the work ahead. So they are appreciated.

Skill:  Double Unders — We didn’t spend a whole lot of daylight practicing double unders. Mine felt ok today. No PR type runs, but most runs were closer to 10 reps than 3, so I’ll take that.

WOD:
“Annie”
50-40-30-20-10 Reps For Time:
Double Unders
Situps

Not sure if this is an unnannounced benchmark week. But I am wondering why benchmark WODs have been programmed two of the three week days so far this week. I don’t mind that they are, but usually there’s a bit of explanation or fanfare though.

I had to review the blog here and my old notes. I last tried this WOD in May of 2012. On that date I did all the rope jumping as single unders. I didn’t note whether it was a 2:1 or 3:1 substitution. Given Coach Jack was leading the WOD that day and given the time, I’m guessing 2:1. On that day, I finished the WOD in 9:43. I went into today’s workout with a goal of 10 minutes. I knew it would require a lot of luck, but I was optimistic.

Double Unders were not too awful, certainly not spectacular. Most runs were in the 5-10 range. There was one long run over 25 reps. There were a couple of complete misfires. For example at least once, I tried to restart and yanked the handles right out of my hand, because the rope was caught under my heels. It happens. I just tried to stay calm during double unders. Focused on not getting too excited about long runs or frustrated about short ones.

Sit ups were tougher than anticipated. That caught me off guard. It seemed like a case of “Wow. Haven’t done sit ups in months!” It was like my body and brain didn’t know what to expect from the effort.

The round of 50 seemed to go on FOREVER! Coach Paul was encouraging everyone to do all sit ups unbroken. That didn’t happen for me. I’ve forgotten the breakdowns now, but the round of 50 was probably 3 subsets. I believe all other rounds were broken down in sets of 2, but not necessarily split evenly.

I had to shed my shoes during the round of 30 or possibly 20. My right shoe came untied and the flapping lace kept catching my rope throwing me off. Seemed faster to kick off both shoes rather than stop to retie it. It might have helped to a small degree. I was very aware that I did not want to lash my bare toes with the cable jump rope and I seemed to have longer runs in the last two rounds.

I know we’re not supposed to compete with anyone else, but that doesn’t stop a person for looking for a rabbit to chase. Greg was the rabbit today. I realized late in the WOD that he and I were on the same round and very closely matched. As we hit the round of 10, I resolved to finish ahead of him. I failed. He fininished out the WOD in 12:13. I finished in 12:15! You got me today, friend! Well done!

So I didn’t meet my spontaneous goal to beat my friend. I didn’t meet my initial goal to complete the WOD in under 10 minutes. You know what? It was still a good day. I’m pretty pleased with the results. If for no other reason than to be able to say that Annie is now one more benchmark WOD that I’m capable of completing Rx.

After completing the benchmark WOD, Coach Paul wasn’t done with us. He had a little extra something he named Tabata Whaaat lined up for us.

He directed all men to grab a 52 lb KB and, I’m guessing here, a 35 for women. We did a Tabata style (20 seconds of work, 10 seconds of rest) workout. The first 4 rounds alternated between American (overhead) kettlebell swings and air squats. The next 4 rounds alternated Sumo Deadlift High Pulls and Air Squats.

Don’t have my notes, but I beleive my KB Swings went 10, 11, 11, 11. Air Squats for that portion were 9, 11, 11, 11. First round should have been 11, but despite all of the direction I got confused. I started a second round of KB swings when I should have switched to squats. Ooops. High Pulls were a bit off. Think I went 9, 10, 10, 9. Air Squats in that portion were 11, 12, 12, 13.

My form for the high pulls was crummy. We don’t do them often, so they’re a bit unfamiliar. I’m unsure what the exact problem was but I suspect I was letting my chest drop and not using enough hips. In both the second and third rounds of this exercise, I could feel muscles getting knotted up just above my right butt cheek. Soon as I felt things tweaking, I checked my alignments and straightened up. The knot seemed to loosen up and is not bothering me now, but still, I’m going to be cautious about that for a bit.

Have to say, it was fun wearing the newest pair of funky shorts for my first work out of the new year. It’s the same pair I wore Monday to close out 2012. Felt they were worth a second look as the crowd on Monday was very small and not enough folks had the chance to behold the glory of the funky shorts that day. They garnered lots of wonderful commentary. “Fugly, nausea inducing, and alarming” were three of my favorite comments of the day.

Looking forward to seeing what the rest of the week holds.

