Final benchmark WOD of the week for me. When it was over I had to face the fact that some old habits have been creeping up on me again and they cost me this morning.

WOD for Friday 010413
“Helen”
3 Rounds For Time:
Run 400m
21 KB Swings (52/35)
12 Pullups

Coach Rachel put us through a throrough and effective warm up routine this morning. It was a combination of “across the floor” movements, kettle bell work, and stretching. Good good stuff.

In looking at this WOD last night, I planned to do it Rx and was targetting a 12 minute completion time. I knew the running would take somewhere around 6 minutes and an additional 6 minutes for the rest of the work seemed feasible. Rachel confirmed before we started that a 12 minute time would be a solid performance. So let’s break it down by exercise.

Run – I paid attention to run splits today. They were 1:36, 2:05, and approx 2:10. Not great and I’d like to blame those on the cold. It was under 30 degrees again this morning. But I know I’ve run times like those in much warmer weather. I’m not too upset with those.

Kettlebell Swings (American) – First two rounds were unbroken. Third round I could feel my shoulders getting overly tired. So I let myself put the kettle bell down once and take 5 quick breaths before completing the round. I think the pause was somewhere around 12 reps or so.

Pull Ups – This is the section that disappointed me most. Going in I had ambitions of doing 2 sets of 6 for the first round (and possibly the second) and likely 3 sets of 4 reps for each of the remaining rounds. It didn’t shake out that way at all.

I believe the first round was 4, 3, 3, 2. Second round was something like 3, 3, 2, 2, 2. Last round was 3, 2, 2, 1 (I attempted 2, but no-repped the last one. My chin didn’t clear the bar), 2 and 2.

I dropped from the bar the final time at 14:39.

There was plenty of time post-WOD for some extra work, so I did 3 sets of 5 reps each leg of pistols concentrating on just barely touching my backside to a 17″ box.

Some thoughts on the WOD –– I’m satisfied, even pleased, that I finished the WOD Rx. I recognize that a few months ago, I would not have been able to do that. I don’t think I’ve done this WOD before, so I don’t have an earlier benchmark to compare to. But I’m not satisfied with that time. I can do this WOD better/faster. I accept that I might not have finished the WOD in under 12 minutes. But I should have been much closer to 12 minutes rather than 15.

Mostly I feel like I should have been been stronger at the pullups. 36 pull ups is not that many. And yes, I acknowledge the irony that it’s odd to write that. A year ago, hell probably 6 months ago, I wouldn’t have even considered doing that many without a band, or at least scaled to jumping pull ups. So I do take some pride in that. Still, I should have been able to do those pull ups today in less sets of more reps. Would it have saved me two and a half minutes? Not likely, but here’s what it all boils down to…discipline.

I know that over the holidays…honestly, since mid-October. I’ve been experimenting with what I can and can’t get away with in my diet, and I feel like I paid the price for that today.

My weight right now is about 227. I had been living right around 220 this Summer. Since about the time of the NC State Fair, I’ve been allowing myself more latitude in my diet. The result has been that too many old bad dietary habits have combined to add on too many unwanted and totally avoidable pounds.

Before anyone tries to make the arguement that the pounds are “good” pounds because I’ve added muscle mass, they’re not. I visited our good friend Dr Stew at the end of November and had my body metrics analyzed. He verified that the pounds are not the constructive kind.

So what does it all mean? Time to tighten up my diet again. Less carbs, less sugar, less holiday spirits, add a whole lot more veggy matter. Portion control is also going to be a big factor. I’ve got to limit just how much of everything is going down my throat.

It’s not a big deal. These things are going to ebb and flow and I’m not too concerned about 7 pounds. Hell, knowing my old habits and the results of many a holiday season past, I consider a 2 pound weight increase between Thanksgiving and New Years to be something of it’s own small victory.

I confident that I can get back to that 220lb mark fairly quickly just by exercising more dietary discipline. And I’m pretty sure that over the course of the total workout that dropping that extra baggage could translate to a much better performance. When I get back to a better weight, I’m looking forward to another date with Helen to see what I can really do.

