60 lifts in yesterday’s METCON complex. 60 lifts in today’s strength segment…I’m starting to see a pattern here. 😉

WOD for Tuesday 011513
Back Squat      
3 sets of 20 reps @60% 1RM 

So 60 back squats, that sounds like fun! My 1RM is 305#. An honest 60% would be 183#. I rounded a bit and figured 60% of 300 is 180. That was my target load for the day.

However, as it was stated on the site and as Coach Rachel pointed out “load the bar to no more than 60%.” So that was intended to be a max load, not a minimum load. That was a relief, because as I was warming up I could tell there was no way I was going to push through 3 sets of 20 at 180#.

I settled in at 155# for the morning, 50-ish percent of my 1RM. I anticipated the strain in the hips and legs. Regulating my breathing during this effort caught me off guard.

Ideally during a back squat, as I’ve been taught, you inhale at the top before initiating the lift. Drop into the squat, rise, and exhale once you’ve returned to standing. Maintaining this rhythm for 20 reps was quite difficult. If I missed the rhythm, then the reps felt awkward. Not to mention that some where around 12-15 reps each set, I was just gasping for air where ever I could get it. Kind of funny. Overall though the sets went well.

METCON
AMRAP in 15 minutes:
Run 200m
12 Box Jumps (24/20)
12 C2B Pullups

So I posted recently that I’m taking part in a rowing competition late in February and I’d like to substitute rowing for running in all WODs from now until the competition. I just to get more time in the seat. I didn’t talk that over directly with my coaches. It’s just something I aired out here and possibly on Facebook.

Before we even started this morning. Before I could even ask, Coach Rachel suggested subbing in 250M Rows for today’s METCON. It’s a relatively small thing, but it’s a great example of how she and the other coaches at CFD care and pay attention to all of the athletes’ individual goals and the gesture and support is hugely appreciated! Thanks, Rachel!

She even offered some thoughts on resources for training videos and suggested that since the rowing is stationary, it would be relatively easy to video myself and assess my form. I have to consider that.

Back to the business at hand…so my WOD was
15Min
250M Row
Box Jump — Rx was 24″. 24″ platforms were taken. I laid one of the new wooden boxes on it’s side and Rachel broke out a tape measure. It was 22.5″. Close enough for me. I didn’t feel like trying to work out what plate was 1.5″ and would bring me to exactly 24″.
CTB Pull ups — done with a Red Band.

It didn’t take too long to work out that Rachel did me no favors allowing me to row. 😉 Box jumping after rowing is TOUGH! Ha! My hips were tight and tired coming off the saddle. The first few reps of each round of box jumps were ugly. Didn’t miss any, but they weren’t smooth, for sure.

A red band for the CTB pull ups seemed like more assistance than necessary, but truth be told, I never did more than 3 reps at a time. So I guess it’s ok for now. Some time soon I need to cut myself off from bands. We’ll see.

In the end, completed 4 rounds even and I’m pretty satisfied with that result. Good day today.

