Just some quick thoughts on this morning’s workout.

WOD for Friday 012513
Back Squat
3-3-3-3-3Back Squat

Good to work together with Brian and Craig today. We challenge and support each other well.

Worked the weights from 180-240#. That satisfied the additional prescribed direction of working the sets at 5% increments 60-80% of 1RM.

Sets felt fine. Concentrated on body position throughout. Things felt very consistent. Only set of note was the last one. With the lighter weights I was lazy and didn’t put on my lifting shoes. It wasn’t an issue until the final set.

While Brian commented afterward that the set looked very good, I could feel my feet rolling inward. Pretty sure my lifting shoes would have provided more support to prevent that.

METCON
3 Rounds For Time:
9 Suitcase Deadlift Right hand (185/135)
21 Lateral Jumps over the bar
9 Suitcase Deadlifts Left hand
21 Lateral Jumps over bar

This was a very challenging WOD. Suitcase deadlifts are a funky variation! I kind of like them. I can see how if we did them more they could really help improve weak side imbalances.

Because these are so rarely used and a very awkward lift, it took everyone quite a while to practice proper technique and to find a workable weight. Coach Erin did a great job getting around a very crowded room of close to 20 athletes making sure everyone had safe solid form and was comfortable with the weight they selected.

There was no way on Earth I was going anywhere near 185#. I started by monkeying around with 135# to see if I could manage that. I could do a rep or two on the right side. But the left was completely unmanageable.

The issue was balance and stability. With the right hand I was able to find a spot on the bar where I could keep the barbell balanced through out the rep. I didn’t have the strength on the left side to find that place where I could keep the bar level. One end of the bar was always crashing to the floor, or just never leaving the floor. It was a matter of inches too. Slide the hand a finger’s width one direction and the front of the bar wouldn’t budge. Move a finger’s width the other direction and the back of the bar was cemented to the floor. Very strange.

I resolved to do the METCON at 115#. I wasn’t confident I’d be able to that all the way through at that weight so rather than use 35 pound plates, I grabbed two 25 and two 10 pound plates.

The METCON went pretty well. Lateral jumps were a challenge the second and third rounds. I wanted to do those unbroken, but didn’t make it happen.

I found during the second and third round of deadlifts that while I was able to keep my upper body alignment straight, my knees leaned toward the bar at the bottom of the lifts. I had to concentrate and ensure that my entire body was aligned vertically before starting each lift. This lean was much more pronounced when lifting left handed vs. right-handed.

I finished the METCON in 6:41. Middle of the pack for the crew that was there today. Seemed about right, so I was pretty satisfied with that.

As I was putting my bar away I was pleasantly surprised to learn I’d actually done the METCON at 125 pounds! The plates that I thought were 10 pounds were actually 15! I’m not certain if the 15# plates had been misplaced on the pipe usually reserved for 10# plates, or if I absent-mindedly took two plates from the last pipe on the left where the lightest weights usually live assuming they were 10 pounders.

If all of the 10 pound plates had been cleared off the rack, then it’s entirely possible that I simply said to myself, “last pile on the left” and inadvertently grabbed 15s of their normal stack mistaking it for a stack of 10’s. Either way, it’s always a nice pick me up when you discover you lifted more than anticipated.

