Ball slams on a Friday. I really couldn’t ask for a better way to finish off a week of exercise.

WOD for Friday 021513
Push Press
2-2-2-2-2

Per Coach Bea all 5 of these sets were to be done at 85% of 1RM. Wasn’t the way I understood it based on what was posted on the website, but hey, I do what the coaches say, so ok.

Well, actually, I get as close as I can. 85% of my 1RM would have been 190#. I did not have that in me today. I settled on about 70% (170#) for the five sets. That proved to be tough to motor through too.

I need to work on my wrist and shoulder mobility more on my own time. In order to rest the bar on the shelf of my chest I had to roll the bar much further out onto the ends of my fingers than was comfortable.

It meant that when I pushed up on the bar it was rolling down my fingers towards my palms and it felt like I had to “catch” it, close my grip around the bar and roll the wrists, which had been stretched back, over into a straighter locked out position all while lifting it. At any weight under 100# that didn’t seem like a big deal. After 100# it started to get uncomfortable on my wrists. At 170#, if the motion wasn’t really fast, it was painful.

The only solution I can see is to improve that mobility so that when the bar is resting in the rack position I can maintain a more complete grip on the bar and minimize some of that transition.

METCON
AMRAP in 12 minutes:
30 Overhead Walking Lunge (45/35)
10 Ball Slams (30/20)

I really liked this METCON. There were ball slams, so it was bound to make me happy.

I elected to use a 35# plate for the overhead walking lunges. Coach Bea’s warm up and the push presses made me realize just how taxed my lats were from yesterday. I didn’t feel like pushing things too far today.

The goal for today was to complete 4 rounds. I really wasn’t clear, if that was reasonable or not. I’ve been missing big time lately trying to estimate goals, but what the hell?

Lunges were smoother today than the last time I can recall doing them. First two rounds I’m sure I went 15 paces before lowering the plate. Then went back 15 paces before dropping the plate.

Third round I believe was done in sets of 10 paces at a time. Final rounds went 10, 5,  10, 5…I think. I do know the plate never touched the ground during a round until I completed that round.

Ball slams all went unbroken with a 30# ball. I’m seriously entertaining using a 35# or 40# the next time they come around. This is probably the first time and certainly the only exercise that comes to mind where you’ll hear me say I wish there had been more reps assigned. I glanced at the white board more than once as I lunged to that end of the room. I wanted to ensure that 10 ball slams was the assigned number of reps. They went very quickly and I wanted to be sure I was doing the appropriate amount of work. I would have been totally cool with 15 or 20 reps per round.

In the end, 5 rounds + 11 additional lunges. I was satisfied with that.

CFD is hosting a goal setting seminar tomorrow and I’m really looking forward to taking part in that. I’ve got some ideas which I’ve explained here in past posts about specific lifts. I’m looking forward to discussing whether those are reasonable or not. I’m also really looking forward to developing a disciplined approach to tackling my goats.

