Saw a quote in a Crossfit Journal articlerecently that basically said, “some days you beat the bar. Some days the bar beats you.” Not too proud to say the bar beat me for the first half of today’s WOD.

WOD for Tuesday 021913
Snatch
5 single reps @80% 1RM
5 single reps @90% 1RM
3 single reps @95% 1RM
Establish 1RM

Last night, I was looking forward to testing for a snatch one round max. It’s been months since I’ve tried and I was optimistic that I could have a very productive morning. I was wrong. I was very very wrong.

The most I worked up to today was 120#, almost 90% of 1RM. The challenges were too numerous and varied to list. I dropped the bar a lot. It was the kind of session that you just throw away. It just wasn’t there today. My only consolation was that there seemed to be a lot of obscenities and pained faces this morning. It’s not that I wish my friends ill, but it is comforting to know I wasn’t the only one struggling.

METCON
For Time:
20 Front Squat (205/155)
30 Box Jumps (30/24)
40 KB Swings (52/35)
50 Wall Ball (20/14)

Front Squats at 205 (to be taken from the floor!) were never going to happen for me, so the decision to scale was real easy. Looking ahead to the rowing competition on Saturday, I’m trying to make smart/conservative choices for the rest of the week. I started this week feeling creakier than normal. I don’t want to push my luck with anything. With that in mind, I committed to making this METCON lighter than I might otherwise have attempted. But I was committed to keeping things quick-paced and intense.

Front Squats were scaled back to 135#. I broke them down into sets of 7, 7 and 6 and they went pretty well.

Box jumps were done on a 24-ish inch box. It was one of the fairly new wooden boxes and I laid it on its side which I believed would make it 24″. However this box isn’t specifically labeled as such and looking at my neighors’ I could see that it was more than 20, but not quite 24. For my purposes, it was high enough. I moved through the box jumps in 3 sets of 10.

Kettle Bell Swings were all done American at 52#. It took three sets to complete 15, 15 and 10 reps respectively.

Wall Balls – I did this with a 16# ball. There were so many of us in the box this morning that by the time I made my way to the rack, all of the 20# medicine balls had been claimed. Brian was at the rack at the same time searching for a 20 and I pointed out that if we were really determined there were plenty of 20# slam balls available. I then followed that with, “But I’m perfectly comfortable with working with a 16.” Wall balls took 4 sets to complete, 15, 15, 15 and 5.

I called time at 9:10. I was very satisfied with that.

I’m looking forward to and a bit nervous about the rowing competition Saturday. My goal for the day is to row PRs for all three events. If I do that, then I can’t ask for more of myself. How my times stack up against the competition is kind of out of my hands at that point. It’s going to be fun.

