Pretty good workout today. Learned something about the new 40# slam balls…they’re heavy!

WOD for Thursday 022113
Front Squat
5 reps @80% 1RM
10 reps @70-75% 1RM
15 reps @65-70% 1RM
20 reps @60% 1RM

Worked these weights on the low end of each of the scales provided. That resulted in the following sets:

5 @ 195
10 @ 170
15 @ 160
20 @ 135

Technically, that 135 is a bit less than 60%. But by the round of 15, I was breaking the sets into subsets. So it was plenty heavy. I think most folks who did that work today would agree that by late in the round of 15 a person could have been squatting with an empty bar and it would have felt heavy. My legs were trembling in anticipation of the lifts. Whew!

METCON
10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 Reps For Time:
Deadhang Pullups
Ball Slams (40/30)

Time to complete: 12:27

I started with a red band for the pull ups. Coach Erin wasn’t satisfied with the way I was still using my hips to initiate my pull up, so she got a blue band for me. I think it was her intent that the blue band should replace the red. I elected to use both.

I used the 40# slam ball for the first time in a WOD today. Can honestly say it will be a while before I use one again. I know that if you put a 30 and a 40# ball on a scale in turn, the scale would say the difference is only 10#s. I’m going on record right now to say it FEELS like a whole lot more than just 10#s!

When we use a 30# ball, I have no trouble getting it to bounce a bit and maintaining correct form with my back straight. I was all kinds of bent over today and my back is suffering for it now. This evening, I’m aching in all sorts of places that don’t normally trouble me. I don’t think it’s anything serious, but it’s not right. Going to be spending copious amounts of time on my foam roller tonight and tomorrow. I’m looking forward to resting tomorrow before the DIRT on Saturday.

Not going to lie. I’m kinda nervous about the rowing trials now. Hope I make a respectable showing. If anyone’s inclined, my age brackets are tentatively scheduled to row at 9:15am, 10:40am, 12:55pm. Cheerleaders are welcome and appreciated. The trials take place at Crossfit Durham, 410 W. Geer St, Durham. Wish me luck.

