Things have been hectic lately. Good, just busy in unpredictable ways and the daily schedules have been widely varied of late. Finding time to write has been a challenge. But here’s the low down on the last two days of workouts for those that are interested.

MONDAY
WOD for Monday 022513
Deadlift
3-3-3-3-3
The additional direction for the deadlifts was, “perform sets of three rep Deadlifts at the following percentages ā€“ 65%, 70%, 75%, 80%, and 85%.” Given a 1RM of 385, that translates to sets done at 250, 270, 290, 310 and 325# respectively.

I focused on maintaining a neutral neck through all lifts. I believe I was more consistent than last time so that’s progress. I also made sure to place the bar back on the floor after all lifts. No dropping from the top. I’ll confess though that the last lift of the morning came down significantly faster than the previous 14. The set of 3 at 325# felt very heavy. So heavy that after the final rep I had to take a knee because I got a head rush and was concerned I might pass out for a moment. But once the gym stopped spinning it was on to the METCON.

METCON
CF Open WOD 11.1
10 min AMRAP:
30 Double Unders
15 Power Snatch (75/55)

My double unders abandoned me on this one. I can’t even claim the earlier light headedness contributed to this because in between the deadlifts and METCON I ran off a quick string of 12. So that wasn’t it. They just vanished for the day. One run of 10 reps, otherwise mostly 3-5 reps at a clip and too many one offs for my comfort. It is what it is.

I finished with a score of 158 total reps or 3 rds + 24 double unders. Not thrilled with it, but not displeased.

TUESDAY

WOD 022613
Press
1-1-1-1-1

Almost missed this WOD! Most days I wake at 5:15, lie in bed for a couple of minutes and then go about my business to get to the gym. I’m typically out the door at 5:45. Most days, I’m sitting outside the gym in my car waiting for the morning’s coach to arrive at 6pm. I do this deliberately because I’m an old man. While the CFD coaches are great about warm ups, I like every additional minute I can get working out my own particular kinks and pain points.

Today the alarm sounded. I turned it off, rolled over and the next time it occurred to me to look at the clock it was 5:58! I was out the door in two minutes and at the gym shortly after 6:15. The group was in the process of starting their warm ups. Whoops!

Additional directions for today’s presses were “perform sets of single rep Press at the following percentages ā€“ 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, and 90%.” Based off a 1RM of 145# set last July, that translated to: 100, 105, 115, 125 and 130# respectively.

All of these lifts felt very good. I was very mindful of pushing my head through the window as soon as the bar cleared my head. They felt so good that after Nat and I completed our assigned sets, I elected to go after a PR and establish a new 1RM.

I wasn’t sure how much to lift. I elected to go to 150#. I really wanted to do more, but the twenty pound jump seemed like a lot. The flip side of my logic was given I haven’t tested this lift in close to 8 mos, I really though that just 5# beyond that 1RM sounded too conservative. Turns out it was plenty.

I made the lift, but it was. a. struggle. That bar hovered just above my head with my arms bent and stuck for far too long. I’m not sure where the extra push to drive it up finally came from, but I got it. I rang the PR bell, but I’m not sure I’m ready to claim this as a 1RM yet. I may have lucked into it. I’d like to apply the rule of 3 and if I can press that 150 a couple more times, then I’d be comfortable owning it as a 1RM.

METCON
CF Open WOD 11.2
15 min AMRAP of:
9 Deadlifts 155
12 Pushups (Hand Release)
15 Box jumps 24″

I was able to do this METCON Rx as well as Mondays. I appreciate what Dave is doing programming past CF Open WODs. It helps folks understand that they are by and large doable for most us. That is helping my confidence as the 2013 open looms ahead next week.

My goal for this one was 1) to not stop. I wanted to be in motion the entire 15 minutes. 2) Complete 6 rounds. In the end I was semi-successful. Somewhere in the fourth round I had to break up the push ups a bit. I also no-repped a box jump or two along the way for not getting my entire foot on the box. I know there was at least one round where I did 10 deadlifts rather than 9. I frequently do that on any METCON where a set ends at 9 reps. I get stupid in the heat of the action and forget that I’m allowed to stop at 9.

I did exceed my goals on score though. When it was all said and done I’d completed 6 full rounds + 24 additional reps. Very satisfied with that score.

