While I wouldn’t say that I sandbagged today’s WOD. It’s definitely fair to say that I approached it with one eye focused on Saturday’s workout.

WOD for Thursday 031413

Skill:
Jump Ropes
1 minute Single Unders
5 minutes of 30 sec on/30 sec off Double Unders

I like Double Under work. It’s definitely a skill that I need more practice at, so it’s always welcome. Runs went ok today. I didn’t ever get a 30 second unbroken run, but I had a few good ones. More than a few very short ones too. Ah well. Not much for it, but to continue to practice.

Strength:
Snatch
5 singles @70% 1RM – 95#
5 singles @75% – 100#
3 singles @80% – 105#
3 singles @85% – 115#

I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m feeling about snatched out. It’s important to continue to work it, but it feels like it’s been just about everywhere this week. Despite my newly discovered affection for the split snatch, I worked the squat snatch exclusively today. Coach Erin encouraged me to pin my shoulders back to avoid being loose in the arms. That definitely seemed to promote a higher pull that naturally contracted back. However she also wanted me to turn my knees out a bit. This seemed to have me landing forward in my feet more than either of us liked. Just something I’ll have to continue to work with. I found it very difficult to drop fast and deep under the bar today. Need to do lots of mobility work before Saturday.

Conditioning: Rx
8 minute Alternating Double Tabata:
Barbell Thruster (30% Back Squat 1RM) – 95#
Box Jumps (24/20)

So my 1RM for Back Squat is 300#. Therefore, 30% of that is 90#. It was simpler to load 95#. But I made the choice to try and race through one round, then pull back a bit for the rest of the WOD. Looking ahead to Saturday and 13.2 with lots of Shoulder to Overhead work and box jumps, I didn’t want to burn anything up today.

Thrusters at 7, 5, 4, 4, 4, 4, 4, 4, = 36
Box Jumps at 7, 6, 6, 6, 6 ,6, 6, 5 = 44

Total Score 80. It’ll do.

13.2 Thoughts
There were a few folks testing 13.2 this morning. That WOD will consist of 5 shoulder to overheads at 115#, 10 deadlifts at the same weight, then 15 box jumps on a 24″ box. It was interesting to observe their efforts and consider how I want to approach Saturday. After completing the snatches, since the bar was already set I experimented with a set of 5 push presses. In watching the folks who went today and feeling the bar myself this morning, there’s no doubt that’s going to get heavy fast! That’s good intel, because looking at the WOD last night, I was thinking 115# shouldn’t be a big deal to go shoulder to overhead. I can see now that that was naive thinking. It’s going to add up quickly and tax the body considerably.

Experimenting with the box jumps this morning, I don’t see an appreciable difference in stepping down or jumping down for me. When I jump down, I’m very cautious to make sure both feet are flat to the floor and I reset very carefully. For my purposes that’s a wash. Based on what I saw today, I have a goal for a final score in mind. For now I’m going to keep it to myself.

Oh, and the other day I said that if I was understanding the games.crossfit.com site correctly, I was #345 overall in the Men’s Masters 40-44 division. I’m not. I’m #345 in the Men’s Masters Division in the Mid-Atlantic region where I’m registered, not worldwide. Should have realized that. But hell. If I finish the Open in the top 10% in this region, that would far exceed my expectations, so that’s still the overall goal.

 

