If you read this blog at all, you know I’m pretty obsessed with data/metrics/benchmarks,basically numbers in all forms. Today I found a new favorite number. That number is 210.

OPEN WOD 13.2
So today was my chance to complete the Crossfit Games Open WOD 13.2. Here’s the description:

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 10 minutes of:
5 Shoulder to Overhead (115/75)
10 Deadlift (115/75)
15 Box Jumps (24/20)

It was interesting (and a bit confusing) hearing people’s scores for this one as they attempted it in the preceding days. They swung so widely that I found it really difficult to get a gauge on where I might expect myself to finish.

Before we got started I told my training/work out partner Einar that I was shooting for six full rounds and I’d be really pleased to break 200 total reps.

I have to give a big shout out of thanks to Coach Ryan! He was very clear with folks before we started that unless we were absolutely certain we had “the engine” to hammer out true box jumps without exhausting ourselves, then we should seriously entertain the thought of doing step ups. He even showed us how we could “justify” ourselves left and right on the edge of the box. The trick being if you did an entire round of step ups always leading with the right foot first, then you could stand with your right foot just beyond the right edge of the box. It was far easier to lift and swing that leading foot up and around the corner of the box to plant it and then step up, rather than standing centered on the box and lifting the foot straight up each and every rep!

I also had to reign in my inner four year old to take advantage of Ryan’s guidance. For those of you that might not be aware. I have two kids, a 4 yo daughter and a 9yo son. It’s Spring which means it’s baseball season and my son and his buddy across the street enjoy pitching wiffle balls to each other and taking their hits.

The 4yo, of course, wants to play and she wants to do things just like the big kids. She doesn’t want to use the shorter bat and hit off the tee. She wants to swing the full sized tee ball bat and have someone pitch to her. And she throws a tantrum any time I suggest she modify her approach.

I have to ask her. “Hon, do you want to do this like the big kids and miss, or do you really want to hit the ball?” I went through a similar mental process myself before starting this morning’s WOD.

My initial response to Ryan’s suggestion was, “F*** THAT! I’m gonna do box jumps! That’s how a serious competitor does it!” Then I literally asked myself, “Do you want to do it like the big kids do it? Or do you want the best score possible?” When I admitted to myself that I really wanted the better score and not just to do it like the big kids, I was able to check my ego and think it through. Ryan was giving great advice. He’d already done the WOD, so he was speaking from first-hand experience and he knows a WHOLE lot more about all of this than I do. At that point I made the decision to use step ups, but I might have scuffed my feet and kicked the box once before we got started.

The end result? With the exception of one missed step up about 7 minutes in I went completely unbroken on this WOD and scored a 210! Far better than I hoped! That’s two Open WODs completed and both of them went much better than I had any business to hope. I’m sure I’m going to run into a buzz saw here eventually, but I don’t care. Taking part in this has been a really fantastic experience. I’m very grateful that Einar agreed to be my work out partner and coaxed me, along with a few others, into taking part. Thanks, Einar!

The other reason 210 is now my new favorite number? Thanks to the friendly competition of Crossfit Durham’s Paleo Fitness challenge, I have lost about 15 pounds in the last almost 30 days and when I stepped on the scale this morning I weighed in at 210lbs! I can not tell you the last time I weighed this little. I was probably still wearing Army OD Green back in ’97.

That means that since I started all of this fitness business. Beginning with my personal lose 40# before turning 40 (The 40 x 40 ¬†Challenge_, guided by my brother, back in March of 2010, I’ve dropped an even 70 lbs! That’s a pretty damn good feeling. It’s fair to say that I am not the same person that started this journey three years ago. The journey has been amazing, unexpected and I can’t wait to see where else it leads.

