Pretty cool (all right, it was down right COLD!) morning at the box today. The way the double under gods treated me today, I’m relieved I did Open WOD 13.3 yesterday.

WOD for Friday 032213
Skill:
Double Unders
1 minute of Single Unders
1 minute right foot Single Unders
1 minute left foot Single Unders
1 minute Double Unders
4 minutes Tabata Double Unders

I enjoyed MOST of the jump rope work this morning. Single unders were smooth, with only one restart across the full minute. Jumping rope on one foot was a lot of fun. I had to experiment with how high and where to hold the off foot. Finally settled on raised out in front of me about 8-10″ from the floor. The whole time I was jumping it looked as if in mid-step to climb a stair. Semed to work for me. Any other position just seemed to mess up my balance too much.

Double unders eluded me today. I was unable to move my hands and feet at separate paces. Each time I sped up my wrists to turn the rope twice, my feet tried to keep pace. Made for lots of short runs. Nothing to panic over.

Strength:
Snatch
5 singles @75%
3 singles @85%
3 singles @90%

After 150 wall ball shots yesterday, my legs were in no mood to drop into deep squats fast under any circumstances. I worked the weights at the assigned percentages which equates to 100, 115 and 130. But all snatches were power snatches today. Not too concerned about it.

Conditioning:
EMOM for 10 minutes:
Sprint 100m

OK. At the risk of sounding like I’m whining, it was in the vicinity of 30 degrees this morning when we stepped outside to sprint. I don’t care who you are, that’s crisp right there. Brrr!

It’s been quite a while since we’ve run in a METCON. I’m surprised to say this, but it was a lot of fun! I expected this to be really difficult given how tight my legs felt through the snatch work, but truth is I felt quick this morning. Quick being a highly relative term, or course.

I didn’t clock/record all of my sprints. But I do know the last 3 were 17, 17 and 16 seconds respectively. That was for a 50M out and back, 100M sprint. I have no reason to believe the previous 7 were significantly faster or slower, so I’m pretty pleased with the results. For me those are solid consistent intervals.

After the WOD I took a few moments to practice a few toes to bars. One unbroken set of 10, then two sets of 5. They’re getting to the point where they’re not so foreign anymore. I’m not good at them, I’m becoming familiar with the discomfort associated with doing them. For me, that counts for a lot in establishing my confidence. Great way to finish the WOD week. Very much looking forward to seeing what’s in store for 13.4. I’m a bit surprised that there hasn’t been any kettle bell work yet. Given there’s only 2 Open WODs left, that’s my prediction for 13.4. In some way it will involved kettle bells.

