Like many other athletes, the snatch is one of the most difficult lift for me to do properly and make significant gains. Finally made just a bit of measurable progress today!

WOD for Monday 040113 –  
Skill:
1 minute Single Unders
5 minutes Double Unders – 30 seconds on/30 seconds off

I overslept this morning. Hate when that happens. I arrived at the gym just in time to drop my gear bag and join the group as Coach Laurie gathered us up for jump rope work.

Considering I was stone cold things went pretty well. The minute of single unders had two interruptions. Double unders were pretty consistent. First set was sluggish, but the remaining 4 all had at least one run approaching 20 reps. That’s a very respectable day.

Strength:
Snatch
1 rep @60% – 80#
1 rep @70% – 95#
1 rep @75% – 100#
1 rep @85% – 115#
1 rep @90% – 120#
1 rep @95% – 130#
Establish 1RM (no more than 3 attempts)

I did the first 5 rounds at the prescribed weights. After the 120# lift, I jumped straight to 140#. Lifting just 5# under my 1RM seemed inefficient. You don’t tie a PR, so 140 seemed like the logical choice. Very pleased to say I got it, TWICE!

I took two shots at 150# after that but failed both times. Not sure why, exactly. The bar was plenty high enough yet I didn’t commit to dropping under it either time. It will come.

Just to be able to say that I’ve improved on the snatch feels great. I’m reasonably sure that old 1RM of 135# was about to have a birthday! Nice to be able to chart some modest progress and validate it by doing it more than once.

Conditioning:
AMRAP in 6 minutes:
4 Snatch Balance (65/45)
6 KB Goblet Squats (52/35)
8 Hand Release Pushups

This was a pretty cool METCON.  I completed 5 rounds even, RX. After observing my technique during the strength work, Coach Laurie challenged me and repeatedly remdinded me to land on my heels during the snatch balances. The curous part about this was that the more I concentrated on this the weirder it got.

I found that late in the METCON I was not landing on the balls or the heels of my feet, but I was rolling my feet inward and it felt as though I was landing mostly on my instep. I don’t know if I’ve done that before. It’s the first time I was aware of it. Something to keep an eye on, I guess.

After the METCON there was an April Fool’s Day surprise for the group. We had some additional unposted work, 6 30 second plank holds w/20 seconds of rest in between each. It’s been a long time since I’ve done plank holds. I didn’t know what to expect. I was pleased that these proved to be not that difficult.

A snatch PR on a Monday? Can’t go wrong starting your day like that.

Open WOD 13.4

Went quite well! The workout was 3 clean and jerks at 135#, then 3 toes to bars increasin the number of reps by 3 each round for 7 minutes. I wasn’t sure how this WOD would go. Toes to bar is a maneuver I’ve been practicing whenever we have spare time because they are not a strength. However, if they had to be included in an Open WOD, this scheme was pretty much ideal. Sets of 3 is just about perfect.

When the 7 minutes expired I’d worked through the round of 9, done the 12 clean and jerks and 6 more toes to bar, total score 54. Very satisfied with that. Competing in the Open has been an outstanding experience. Very glad I participated, but I need more time to crystalize my thoughts around why.

Completing the WOD was cool. Hanging around the box for the second session judging, supporting, hanging out with other athletes was even better. Best of all was being able to sit with my 4yo daughter while the final heat of the day ran. We sat and watched all the strong women of Crossfit Durham lift and fly through that workout.

We cheered, we clapped, shouted for all we were worth. In the middle of it all I told my daughter, “Lil Bit, you see all of these strong ladies? If you want to you can grow up to be strong just like them.”  She looked at me and her eyes got huge and then she just smiled from ear to ear.

I’m so grateful to be a part of this crossfit community and to be able to share it with my family as well as to be able to have such fantastic examples of healthy women for my daughter to be near.

