In light of what happened in Boston yesterday, it feels awkward to write and post about a workout this morning. Hell, yesterday was just a bizarre day all around. The explosions at the Boston Marathon are borderline incomprehensible. There was also a lockout at my son’s elementary school yesterday. Luckily, his class was 35 miles away on a field trip to the Museum of Natural Science so I’m not even sure he’s aware that it occurred at all.

Then the day ended with a call from the Durham police deparment stating a lost 5yo boy had been found wandering La Salle St. He was healthy and well, but so scared that he was unable to tell the police his name or where he lived. If anyone had any information, please call the station. Much to Erin and my relief a follow up call came about 25 minute later, the boy’s guardians had been identified and contacted. Frankly, Erin is stronger than I am. I can’t believe she actually let the boy out of the car at the drop off lane at school this morning.

Still, in the face of adversity, we go on,right? We strive to maintain normalcy, live our lives as best we can and put our faith in the overwhelming majority of our fellow humankind. So with that preface, here’s what went on this morning.

Skill:
Deadhang Pullups
Test for 1 set max (no more than 3 attempts)

7 deadhang pulls ups! That is the most I’ve managed in a single set. Very pleased. Enough said.

Strength:
Bench Press
5 reps @45%
5 reps @55%
3 reps @65%
3 sets of 4 reps @75% 1RM

Worked weights ranging from 105-165 for these. By the numbers the 3 sets of 4 reps should have been 175#. It was too heavy to do properly, possibly at all. 165# was a better working weight today.

Conditioning:
For Time:
100m Farmer’s Walk (62/44 x 2) – hands at sides
100m Farmer’s Walk – hold in rack position
10 Double KB Thrusters
20 Slam Balls (40/30)
30 Burpees
40 Sandbag Shoulders
50m Sprint with Sandbag
100m Farmer’s Walk (62/44 x 2) – hands at sides
100m Farmer’s Walk – hold in rack position

Time Cap= 20 minutes

This WOD was a treat! Seriously hard work and great fun using some of the less orthodox exercises in the ol’ Crossfit hopper.

I had mentioned to my wife, Erin, over dinner that lately the METCONs have seemed not dull, but conventional. They have been comprised of barbell lifts, work on the pull up rigs, very traditional stuff. I have been craving something unexpected.

I’ve been hoping to see bear crawls or wall walks, toes through rings or exercises along those lines show up. When I saw the METCON posted on Monday night, I actually cheered out loud. I was very excited to take this METCON on.

The additional direction provided regarding the walks/kettle bell work was that we should choose one pair of kettle bells or dumb bells for the enitre METCON. That meant that for me the thrusters were going to be the limiting factor. No way I was doing thrusters with 62# in each hand. I grabbed a pair of 35# KB’s, a 30# slam ball and a large sandbag. I’m pretty sure that means the sandbag was in the vicinity of 40#.

I was second guessing my kettlebell choice. I knew that 35# wouldn’t be much of a challenge for the walks, but still wasn’t confident about the thrusters. In watching some of my friends select their kettle bells, I realized I was underacheiving. I put the 35s back and grabbed two 44# kbs. What the hell? It’s only 10 thrusters right?

Some observations:

The thrusters were not pleasant at all.

Slam Balls went unbroken.

Doing burpees on a rough finish concrete parking lot has advantages. I was very motivated to get up of the pavement as quickly as possible. It also prevented me from resting on my knees as I rose up from the prone position. So my form was better than normal. Don’t kid yourselves into thinking I thought that out in advance. I only did the burpees outside because it was cooler.

The sandbag shoulders drained far more energy than I anticipated.

The 50M sandbag sprint was not. Not even close. It was barely a clop.

Somewhere late in the WOD I shed my shirt. It was so drenched with sweat it felt like I was carrying an extra 10#.

It took 12:57 seconds to complete all the assigned work and I enjoyed every second of it.

Be well friends and be kind to one another.

