Some days checking the site for the next day’s WOD is just a bad idea. Based on my understanding of the day’s work, I was not looking forward to today.

WOD for Tuesday 042313
Skill:
EMOM for 6 minutes:
Snatch from 1st position
Snatch from 2nd pos
Snatch from Floor
Done with 40% 1RM Snatch – 65#

Snatches took a round or two to get loose, then moved smoothly. I’m sort of looking forward to testing these again.

Strength:
Back Squat
5 reps @45% – 135#
5 reps @55% – 155#
3 reps @65% – 185#
3 sets of 4 reps @75% 1RM – 210#

Based all the squat weights off a 1RM of 280#. The lifts were challenging where you would expect them to be, but manageable. Rachel was right that these were all good weights where we could really focus on depth and overall form.

The only issue on the day was during the second round of 5. Rachel observed that my right ankle was “caving” or rolling inward every rep. I’d noticed it as well. I’d started the squats wearing my lifting shoes, but shed them after that round. Didn’t have a problem after that. Barefoot back squats just seem to work better for me. Go figure.

Conditioning:
AMRAP 15 minutes, 3-6-9-12-15-18 reps of:
Deadlift (40% of 1RM)
Run 200m with Med Ball (20/14) between rounds

OK — So the METCON description above is exactly as it appears online right now. I could be mistaken, but I believe someone has modified the site since the 6:15 session this morning. 😉

When I read the site last night I was pretty certain that it read:

AMRAP 15 minutes, 3-6-9-12-15-18 reps of:
Deadlift (40% of 1RM)
Run 200m with Med Ball (20/14)

From which, I inferred that BOTH the deadlifts and 200M runs would increase by 3 each round. That sounded absolutely miserable. Now to be fair, I stayed out late having a couple of beers with a college friend I haven’t seen in 20 years. It’s entirely possible that my reading comprehension skills were a bit compromised, but I don’t think they were that bad. 😉

The group got chatting about the METCON during the strength session. When I explained my interpretation of the METCON folks got very nervous very quickly. Rachel checked the website and admitted that it wasn’t clear as posted. She made the decision that we’d execute it as it’s listed now. 3 deadlifts, 1 200M run, 6 deadlifts, 1 200M Run and so on for the 15 min. Believe me, I wanted to be wrong. Conducted my way we’d have covered more than a mile of running within two rounds! Rough!

As it was, the runs were tough and I was kind of trudging along going through the motions early on when a thought occurred to me. A year ago, I was carrying that 20# medball around my midsection and I couldn’t just drop at the gym door. 2 years ago, I was lugging TWO of those med balls every time I ran. When that thought passed through my head, I didn’t mind the runs any more. I found a little something extra in my stride and a silly smile on my face.

When the 15 minutes was over, I’d completed 6 200M runs and all the deadlifts through the round of 21.

There was a bit of time after the METCON, so I attempted some pistols balanced on a 45# plate. After fairly heavy backsquats and 84 deadlifts that probably wasn’t my best decision. I worked 5 reps each leg in sets of 3 and 2, but balance was very difficult and I certainly wasn’t able to squat as deeply today as I have on other days with fresher legs. Realizing the lapse in my decision making I moved off to another area of the box did 2 sets of 5 hip thrusts and called it a morning.

