Not a bad day today, but some unexpected results. I should probably know better than to expect things to go according to plan.

WOD for Monday 042913

Strength:
Press
5 reps @50%
5 reps @65%
3 reps @80%
2 reps @90%
Establish 1RM (no more than 3 attempts)

Shared a rack with Craig today. We realized we were working from the same starting 1RM of 150, so our assigned percentages were identical. After completing the 90% reps Craig suggested jumping straight to 155#. A 20# jump sounded aggressive to me, but he pointed out: 1) Never tie a PR and 2) why expend the energy on a lift that we ought to be able to do. Okey-dokey then. 155# it is. Sure enough, it went up.

It went up deceptively easy. I say that because when we discussed what to do next, I suggested a 10# jump. That was overkill. I ended up missing 165# and 160## in that order. So the 155# was my only successful lift, but it was a PR, so I’m not complaining.

Craig had a very good day. He made a big jump in his 1RM, but that’s his story to tell, if he chooses. I will say, “Way to go, my friend. Great job.”

Skill:
Dips
3 sets @ 60% of max reps

I chose to do ring dips and did 3 sets of 3 making sure I got as deep as possible.

Conditioning:
15-12-9 Reps For Time:
Kettlebell Swings (70/52)
Toes To Bar
Time Cap: 6 minutes

Chose a 62# kettle bell for this METCON. Little disappointed in myself on this one. Swings were Russian and were fine. They all went unbroken.

Toes to Bar got away from me today. By about the 8th rep during the round of 12 I was shot. I was swinging and kipping 3 times to get a single rep. Frustrating.

I stood there pondering whether I was going to be stubborn and continue to force myself to do T2B, or scale to knees to elbows and get moving again. Eventually I went back to work doing KTE for the remainder of the WOD. I finished in 5:18. Not sure why the T2B weren’t there today. It caught me by surprise, but so be it.

There was plenty of time after the WOD so I went out in the cool morning drizzle for an 800M run. It was pretty pleasant. I should probably take advantage of the Spring mornings and sneak in some runs pre- or post-wod before the Durham summer kicks into high gear and it’s already 80+ degrees at 6am. We’ll see. Still have so many other things I want to work on with the limited spare time available, that it can be tough to decide from day-to-day. Typical Crossfit problem: stay focused on tackling a goat/goal or embrace the constantly varied?

Speaking of “other things” Friday I was all excited about my luck with some handstand push ups. After this weekend, I’ve reset my expectations there too. I suspect it’s going to be a while longer before I see that full range of motion HSPU. I tried doing one at home Friday afternoon in my home. It wasn’t there. Not even close. I shrugged that one off as “Oh well. Of course I couldn’t do it now. I’m tired from the week’s work. It was silly to think I could do it.”

I tried this morning after dips and 1RM testing for press. Again thinking, it was silly to expect to do one after that work, but I’d had two full days of rest and wanted to try anyway. I ended up lowering myself very nicely into  a wall supported headstand and then doing a long headstand hold.There was no lifting out of it.

I’m coming to understand two things 1) Friday was an exceptional day and 2) that 3 or so inches that I’m not traveling when touching my head to an AbMat is a significant distance. That’s ok, though. I’m still closer than I’ve ever been and motivated to stay after it.

