Today was about getting in the right frame of mind to make my body do what I expect of it. For the most part, I think I pulled things together.

Skill:
EMOM for 8 minutes:
2 Snatch (35% 1RM)

Snatches were done as prescribed at 65#. Not much to discuss here. Worked hard at making sure my feet landed flat, in my heels and didn’t roll inward. By and large, things went as planned.

Strength:
Back Squat
5 reps @55% – 155#
3 reps @65% – 180#
3 reps @75% – 210
3 sets of 2 reps @85% 1RM – 240#

In the Army there is a common expression where one service member will tell another, “you need to get your head space and timing right.” It comes from the M2 .50 caliber machine gun. In order for the weapon to fire properly one has to ensure the bolt and head space are in alignment. If a soldier fails to do this there can be violent catastrophic repercussions. So basically, when you hear this, one person is telling another to get their mind right. Lisbeth Darsh published a very blunt article yesterday on her blog to the same effect and it really resonated with me.

For a couple of weeks now, I haven’t had my head space and timing right. I’ve been getting all my workouts in. I’m trying to pay attention to what I’m doing, but the focus has been off by a few degrees.

Back Squats were a great opportunity to get right. We’ve had issues lately. So today was really about getting my head in the game. It took a bit of self-directed anger to get on track.

Some days it seems like there are so many decisions. Do I do the prescribed weight or not knowing that I’ve been struggling lately? “Yes, you do the prescribed weight. You want to get better/stronger? Do it the way the coaches assign it. They know more than you do. Trust them!”

Do I wear my lifting shoes or my innov-8’s or go barefoot knowing how I’ve been rolling my ankles lately? “Wear the god damn lifting shoes! You paid good money for them. They’re the right tool for the job. Use it! Do the damn lift with the proper form and your feet are irrelevant! You know this.”

So once all of the internal debates were resolved, then it was on to lifting. You know what? It went just fine.

I just tried to focus on each set individually remembering to set myself up and stay tight from head to toe staying back in the heels.

The only time I got concerned was when Coach Stephen came by and mentioned my feet. Immediately the voices started screaming in my head, “Damnit! Here it comes! You rolled your ankles, again!”

“No. I didn’t! It felt solid.” When the screaming was done in my head, I realized he wasn’t worried about my ankles, simply that I had my right foot pointed out significantly more than the left and was that by design or happenstance? I told him, “Accident. Didn’t even realize it. I’m just glad you didn’t tell me I was rolling my ankles in.”

It just felt good to walk away from this strength session feeling competent in this lift again.

Conditioning:
AMRAP in 10 minutes:
1 Burpee, 1 Push Press (50% of one rep max) 105#
2 Burpee, 2 Push Press
3 Burpee, 3 Push Press, etc.

This was a seriously intriguing WOD. I looked at it last night and wondered, “Could I get 10 or more rounds in? 8 is probably more realistic.” Turns out I split the difference. Completed 9 full rounds, 10 burpees and 2 more push press followed immediately by a collapse to the mats to recover. That’s twice this week that Coach Jack’s programmed WODS have left me that way. I don’t know whether to thank him or smack him! Better thank him, he’s stronger and, more relevant, faster than I am. 😉

Gonna be quiet for the next few days while we all tend to some family business around here. Look forward to catching up with everyone again next week.

