So for a while now, I’ve been looking at fitness through different lenses and from different perspectives. Tracking lifts hasn’t felt very satisfying lately as I’ve plateaued on many of the lifts we test most frequently. I’m seeing gains in other areas of my fitness, but they’re less quantifiable. They’re no less important, just not as obvious. So I’ve been looking for new ways to frame things. Today I got some answers to some questions that have been gnawing at me for a while.

Erin, a couple of buddies from CFD (Greg and Nat), and I took on the Army Physical Fitness Test(APFT). Why the APFT? For them I suspect it was simply a benchmark test a bit different from the standard Crossfit WODs. For me it was a bit more personal and I appreciate their willingness to indulge an old soldier.

I served active duty in the Army from 1993-1997. Taking the APFT today provided a unique opportunity to see not only how I stack up now against the standards for my current age, but also to compare at least theoretically against the man I was 20 years ago, at what was presumably the fitness peak of my adult life.

The APFT is simple, 2 minutes max push ups, 2 minutes max sit ups, then a timed 2 mile run. In most situations when taking the test in the service, you’d be testing with your military unit and everyone would test one event, then move on to the second, complete that then the third. We all agreed that for our purposes we’d wait a minimum of 10 minutes between exercises. The other thing you need to know, a passing score is 180 points, with a minimum of 60 points (on a 100 point scale) on each event.

So, I did 50 push ups (82 points, for my current age bracket), 52 sit ups ( 80 points), 16:14 run (81 points). Total score 243.

I went digging through my old files. I don’t have a detailed record of any of my actual APFT scores from my time in the service. I was never a stud. I never took it all that seriously at the time. As I recall I was a 210 sort of scorer, with a pretty even 70-70-70 point distribution. Based on the information I have a 70-70-70 points score for a 22-26 yo male translates to 50 push ups, 58 sit ups and a 15:14 run.

So, “Could Crossfit PK, the man I am today, compete against the kid I was a 20 years ago, LT K, in an APFT? Could Crossfit PK match LT K step for step and rep for rep?” No, not today. But it would be a fun contest to watch. And here’s the thing, Crossfit PK is not done yet. Not by a long shot.

