Third straight workout day in a row. I don’t do that often and it showed today.

WOD for Tuesday 052113
Skill:
1 minute of Single Unders
30 seconds of Singles – right
30 seconds of Singles – left
4 minutes of Tabata Double Unders (20 seconds on, 10 seconds off)

Jump rope work was elusive. First set went great. Went 57 second seconds unbroken. I should no better than to try and look at the clock. Should just keep my eyes forward and wait for the coach to yell, “time.” I would have gone unbroken.

The singles on one foot were highly amusing, but not very smooth. I’m sure there’s a very scientific logical reason why we do those. I’m not questioning their efficacy. I’m certain it’s to improve balance, stamina, blah, blah, blah. My theory is that their primary value is purely psychological.

By the time I’m done tripping, untangling, starting and restarting for a minute I’m relieved when the coach says, “OK, let’s move onto double unders.” I see how this works now, Dave. Very ingenious.

That being said, double unders were at best sporadic today. I was deliberately tinkering with hand placement and that made for lots of interruptions.

Strength:
Snatch
4 singles @60%
4 singles @65%
4 singles @70% 1RM

Snatches were just ok. I should have been focusing on getting deeper in the squat on the catch, but my hips were slow moving today despite the burgener and Rachel’s warm ups. Finally got a rhythm in the last set and those were the deepest strongest snatches on the morning.

Conditioning:
AMRAP in 20 minutes:
5 Thrusters (50% 1RM Front Squat)
7 Pullups
Run 400m

I was overly ambitious. I started Rx with a 120# bar for thrusters. But had it set as a bail out bar. I used a 45# bar, 2 ea 25#, 10# and 2.5# plates. I knew it was highly unlikely I’d go 20 full minutes Rx, but hey, what the hell?

I hosed myself right out of the gate. I made a half-hearted attempt at a full clean to be efficient with the first thruster. That’s only helpful if you’re successful with the clean. I was not. I dropped the bar, stood there a moment and announced, “well that was a lousy start,” or words to that effect. There might have been an obscenity, perhaps two, included. Any way back to work.

By the time I got through the thrusters everyone else had completed both the thrusters and pull ups were out the door running.

After the second round as I was headed out for the run, I asked Rachel to strip the 10s and leave me with 100#. That became my weight for the rest of the METCON.

This was one of those days where you just try to keep going forward. When the 20 minutes elapsed I’d completed 5 full rounds and 12 additional reps.

Rachel was recording scores on the white board for us. I gave her my score and suggested, “I get the R today because I did the first two rounds, Rx, right?” She laughed, but didn’t write it in, so I thought, but did not say, “Well, ok. I did more rounds scaled than Rx. Can I at least get the x? That’s lower case.”

I must have looked awful today! I was well behind the group and running alone for the entire WOD. That’s nothing new. And I wasn’t upset about it, but I must have looked like I needed a hug or something.

The CFD 6:15 crew is a close knit group. Many of us have been working out together for months, if not years at this stage. We always offer each other encouragement and support. But folks were borderline excessive today. It started to make me wonder if I was turning green, or appeared excessively angry or beaten down or something.

I mean, there were the standard “good job, Paul.” “Keep it up, Paul,” and they are all appreciated. But at some point one starts to wonder, “am I missing something here?”  During one run as we were passing on the street some one offered, “don’t worry about it. I’m only using 95#.” What? Where did that come from? It made me chuckle. I wasn’t in a bad head space this morning, but I must have been giving off some bad mojo, or wearing my mean face. Folks seemed really worried about my well being.

Random observation: So I read this article yesterday. My initial reaction was something along the lines of “get over yourself!” I mean “Never touch the bar with your foot?” “Never step over the bar?!” I was thinking something along the lines of “Seriously? OCD, much?”

Then I got to mulling it over later and discussed it briefly with Coach Rachel this morning. I thought about how you never cross the bat handles in the dugout on a baseball field. Most players try to avoid stepping on the chalk base line as they enter and exit the diamond. You don’t stand and admire your own home run at the plate overly long or you can expect the first pitch of your next at bat to plunk you in the backside, or maybe between the shoulder blades. Even as fans there are rules in the stands.

The one that most folks break that drives me wild is, unless you are having an absolute biological emergency, don’t leave or return to your seat while the game is in progress. Wait until the teams are changing sides during the middle or end of an inning. It’s a sign of respect to your neighbors and fellow fans that you care enough about them to not interrupt their enjoyment of the game in progress.

In the dojo where my wife trains, there are all sorts of rules and expectations regarding rank structure and how the respect for rank is demonstrated. I guess my point is, every culture has its own quirks and idiosynchracies that to the outsider appear just odd at first glance. However, if you want to demonstrate the proper respect for that culture, then you learn those rules. You adopt those quirks and idiosynchracies as your own and then you fit in. I confess, I have a couple of bad habits that I now know I need to break. Trust me folks. No disrespect was intended and I will get better.

