A demanding WOD with of great company made for a fantastic morning, plus some musical fun.

WOD for Thursday 060613 –

Skill:
Pistols
4 Rounds: Max reps (-3) pistols Right leg, then Left leg.
Leave 3 reps “in the tank” every round.
Scale to a box to put these sets in the 5-10 rep range.

I’m excited that pistols are now part of the training cycle. I said recently that my goal is to get one good pistol each leg by Labor Day. So this is great timing.

Today I did 5 pistols each leg to a 17″ box. I tried one pistol to a 12″ box, but it was too deep. There’s a middle range between that 17 and 12″ where I think I should be working. At 17′ it’s not tough at all to just brush the box with my backside then stand back up. 12″ is too short. I end up falling onto the box. It didn’t occur to me at the time, but next time, I’ve got to find that sweet spot by adding a plate or two to a 12″ box.

Strength:
Snatch based on 1RM of 150.
3 singles @70% – 105
3 singles @75% – 115
2 singles @80% – 120
2 singles @85% 1RM – 125

Dang, I was moving slow today. Things were just tight after yesterday’s KB snatch-fest. I know I should be doing it anyway, but I’m really going to have to focus on mobility at home for the next week, if I’m going to have any chance of making a solid showing at next week’s Olymic lifting competition.

Conditioning:
AMRAP in 8 minutes:
5 Wallballs w/slam ball (30/20)
10 Ball Slams (same ball as WB)
20 Situps (add ball to situps for Rx+)

This METCON was a blast! Although tossing that 30# slam ball 10′ in the air was tough! Had to be very careful during ball slams too. I’ve come away from those with a sore lower back before when using a 30# ball. Worked very hard at staying upright at all times.

I completed 5 full rounds (the goal for the day) and 3 extra wall balls, Rx. I was surprised at the number of folks who elected to do the sit ups with their slam ball and go for Rx+. Good on ya, friends. Rx was enough for me. I can’t claim completely unbroken either which was a secondary goal. I dropped a wall ball shot in both the 4th and 5th rounds. So let’s say that I was “in motion” the whole 8 minutes.

Post WOD there was a special request. SOME ONE requested that Coach Stephen add a special element to today’s WOD. Why Lexy thought this was a good idea is a mystery to me. 😉 But we did a quick totally optional cash out. Stephen played the Police’s “Roxanne.” As the song plays you run or jump in place and everytime one of the musicisians calls out “Roxanne” you do a burpee. It’s not bad initially. Then the chorus hits and there’s a quick flurry of burpees. You settle back in during the second verse and catch your breath and then all hell breaks loose as the final chorus goes off.

I don’t know how many burpees are involved overall, but it was a fast furious finish to the day. And while I probably shouldn’t admit it, I really enjoyed it. It was fun to see everyone step up to the challenge. It also felt so good to be back with the 6:15 crew today.

 

 

