I like kettle bells. I like them a lot. In theory if one kettle bell is fun, then working with two should be even more fun, right? Right?

WOD for Tuesday 062513 –  
Skill:
5 Rounds:
2 Clean and Split Jerks
Rest 90 seconds
Use 50% of Clean 1RM

Did these as directed with a weight of 100#. Given my issues with the snatch yesterday, I gave extra attention to loosening the hips and practicing dropping quickly before we went to work. It seemed to pay off. I felt much more mobile today and all of the catches felt quick.

In some cases I applied a bit more pull than strictly necessary. There was more than one lift where I caught the bar against my throat rather than my shoulders. That’ll get your attention in the morning.

Strength:
Sumo Deadlift
5 reps @45% – 150
5 reps @55% – 185
3 reps @65% – 210
3 sets of 4 reps @75% 1RM – 250

All lifts done at percentages assigned. This felt pretty good too. Although at 250# I could feel my grip tiring and that had me concerned for the METCON to come.

There was a lot of energy and banter in the 6:15 crew this morning. Not sure if was the chemistry of the group, or nervous energy about the METCON or what, but it was a lot of fun.

Conditioning:
8 Rounds For Time:
10 Double Russian KB Swings (52/35)
8 Double Cleans
6 Double Squats
4 Double Presses
Time Cap = 20 minutes

The METCON was not fun. It was grueling, exhausting, challenging, demanding…everything you could ask of a workout, but not fun. 😉

For the unfamiliar, the double means that you had a kettle bell in each hand and were moving with two kettle bells in synch at all times! Swings go from between your legs to eye level out in front of you. Cleans go from between your legs and end up under your chin resting on your forearms. Squats are done resting the kettle bells on your forearms. Presses are straight overhead from a standing position.

I didn’t even consider Rx for this one. I picked up 40# kettle bells and figured out pretty quickly while warming up that even scaled that far, it was going to be a real challenge to finish in the allotted 20 minutes. I can’t give you accounts of broken unbroken, etc. There were too many rounds and transitions to keep straight. All I know is the cursing started in the second round. The shirt came off in the fourth round and by the fifth round I really wasn’t sure I was going to stay on my feet long enough to finish.  Finish I did though in 18:30. I was shot! 6 hours later my forearms are still aching.

How tough was it? I curse during METCONs. Sometimes under my breath. Some times aloud. Today I was shouting all manner of obscenities from about 6 minutes on. In and of itself, that’s unexceptional. What was exceptional today was that most if not ALL of the dozen of us present at 6:15 were cursing aloud for this one. If you’re a coach, that’s got to be when you KNOW you’ve got everyone’s attention and have definitely pushed them outside their comfort zone. I was keeping track. I’m pretty sure that I heard obscenities from 90% of the crew. So Bravo, Coach Rachel!

The other thing that struck me during today’s METCON was that a new gym member was completing his Foundations course today. This meant he was taking on Fran 21-15-9 Thrusters and Pull ups, presumably for the first time, alone! That’s its own special category of suffering that I don’t really want to consider. I really wanted to offer him some encouragement, but we were on opposite sides of the box once we all got rolling. There was no way to communicate.

Beyond his experience with Fran, even after he powered through that he sat around and watched the rest of us fight through “Kettle Bell Mania.” I imagine that poor young fellow is sitting somewhere now having lunch with friends as his body tightens up, telling them, “I don’t know about this Crossfit thing. I don’t know what I’ve gotten myself into.” I truly hope we see him again. He got a hell of a rude introduction to the 6:15 crew today. Would be nice to welcome him in a friendlier more civilized fashion.

Accessory work? Yeah, right. Not today. 😉

