Today was another example of how if you’re working with the right people, they make you want to be better than you think you’re capable.

Skill:
Dips
Test for 1 set max (no more than 3 attempts)
Shared a set of rings with Nat this morning. Holy cow that guy can muscle through some ring dips! Me? I did a slow focused first set of 6 dips. Not bad. After talking it over with Nat, I picked up my pace a bit in the second set and managed 7. That was the best set of the day. I’m satisfied with that.

Strength:
Push/Split Jerk
4 singles @60% – 120
4 singles @65% – 135
4 singles @70% 1RM -145

These felt sharp today. The drop under the bar felt quick. No press outs. Feet felt like they stuck when they hit the floor on all reps. Coach Erin gave me a nice atta boy when she pointed out that I’m landing much closer to center between my feet. I used to always land with all of my weight forward on my front foot.

There’s still plenty of work to do. I tend to keep my feet too narrow. I also want to get even closer to landing at center more often. Still it felt like a good day. Good enough that I’m looking forward to the next 1RM test day for this one.

Conditioning:
13 down to 1
Russian KB Swings (70/52)
Burpees
Time Cap = 10 minutes

I didn’t want anything to do with a 70# kettlebell. I scaled to 62#. I was thinking about this METCON on the drive in. This workout was 85 reps of each exercise inside of 10 minutes.

I took part in the notorious 7 minutes of burpees WOD a few months ago. I’m pretty sure I did 70+ reps. While there was extra time here, there was also a lot of  additional work. So I was pretty sure from the start, I wasn’t going to complete this workout. I still wanted to give it my best shot.

I got through the round of 6 in the 10 minutes allotted. So 152 total reps. I’m pretty pleased with that. In fact, I was satisfied enough that I took a knee and was trying to recover when Craig called out, “Don’t stop the clock. Let it run, please.”

It hit me that he was going to complete the WOD. My initial reaction was, “Damnit! Why?” Then I decided, “Well, he’s doing it Rx, so he’s moving more weight than you and he’s going the distance. You better get up and finish it out.” As I did, I called out to the room. “You heard him. Craig says we have to finish.” Or something to that effect. Then I got up and got back to work.

By the time I was up and working again, I could scan the room and see that everyone was still going. Not sure if they restarted as I did, or if they simply kept going when time expired. For all I know, I’m the only one who quit when time lapsed. But everyone saw it through.

That’s part of the added value of the CrossFit community. If I’d been working on my own. I would have walked away satisfied after 10 minutes. But because everyone else was charging on and going to see the workout through to completion I found the reserve to do it as well. So thanks for pulling me through, gang.

Before anyone starts crying about ‘giving into peer pressure,’ just don’t. It’s not that. I know perfectly well that no one in that gym would have thought twice, if I put that kettle bell back on the rack and walked away when the assigned time was up. This was one of those mornings where I just drew a bit of inspiration and extra energy from someone else’s determination.

BTW- finished the METCON in 12:50.

Good day. Good week. Sunday, I’m tackling the benchmark WOD Griff. If you’re not familiar with it, you run 800M, then run BACKWARD for 400M, then repeat. I’m going to do it, partly because I’m curious. Mostly because this one falls squarely into that category I call ‘playground’ WODs.

It’s the answer I use when people ask me, “What’s a Crossfit workout like?” I tell them, “CrossFit is recess for grown ups. You do playground workouts.” By that I mean it’s like those games/competitions we used to do at recess as kids. “OK. We’re going to run around the baseball field. But you have to do 10 push ups at first base, 10 sit ups at second base, 10 jumping jacks at third and then crawl on all fours to home plate! Do the whole thing four times! First one done wins!” THAT’S CrossFit. So you see my point with “Griff?” Only kids, or a kid-like spirit, would compete at running backwards. I’m really looking forward to it. I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes.

