Some days things get a bit confused and you end up doing some extra work. No big deal, but knowing we did more work than originally intended makes swallowing the pill of not hitting a new 1RM a bit less bitter.

Skill:
Strict T2B Drill:
EMOM for 8 minutes:
Perform 3 reps with as much control as possible.

This work went well. It’s been months since I’ve done a toe to bar. I was a bit nervous I’d forgotten how. Pleased that the form was still there. Plenty of work still to be done, but it felt all right.

Strength:
Clean
1 rep @60% -105
1 rep @70% – 125
1 rep @80% – 145
1 rep @85% – 155
1 rep @90% – 160
1 rep @95% – 170
Establish 1RM (no more than 3 attempts)

So the way the work is listed above is how it appears on the website right now. At 6:15 this morning, the rep scheme was posted as follows:

1 rep @60% -105
5 rep @70% – 125
3 rep @80% – 145
2 rep @85% – 155
2 rep @90% – 160
2 rep @95% – 170

That’s a WHOLE lot more reps to knock out before going after a 1RM for a lift compared to what was intended. Craig and I shared a bar and I mentioned (probably more like complained) that I didn’t like the rep scheme. It felt like too many lifts and I knew I was wearing out before we even got to try for new 1RMs. By the time we got to the 90% lifts, I just did singles. Partly to conserve energy and partly out of frustration. I was getting tired and the lifts were getting sloppy.

In fact, I counted my single at 170# as my first 1RM attempt. My elbows were way too far down. They were nearly vertical and to the point where I was worried about jamming them into my thighs again. Just didn’t have the speed or mobility to push them through further though. I made one more lift at 175#. Again it was very ugly. I made an attempt at 185# trying to best what I did at the CFD lifting competition a few weeks ago, but failed.

In hindsight, I’m glad to hear that the rep scheme was adjusted for other sessions. Bummed we did it as initially posted, but hey, cleans will come around again and next time I’ll be ready. Just chalk today up as a working session and not a ‘true’ 1RM test.

Conditioning:
EMOM for 5 minutes:
5 Slam Balls (40/30)
5 Box Jumps (30/24)
5 Russian KB Swings (70/52)
At the top of the sixth minute
run 400m For Time

I did this one Rx and it was a blitz krieg of a METCON. It was a lot of fun. All rounds of the EMOM work went unbroken and were completed in roughly 40 seconds. The box jumps were TOUGH in the last round.

I pulled off a 1:39 400M sprint. Definitely felt the effects of Griff on my legs this morning. Still after all of the preceding work that’s a very respectable time for me. So I was satisfied.

