Some days there’s the work you do that gets recorded, and then there’s the actual work that you do. I did a lot of extra actual work today.

And I did it again. I made the mistake of checking with my buddy Craig about weight percentages and I paid for it big time.

Skill:
EMOM for 8 minutes:
Clean DL
Clean Pull
Clean
Use 50% of Clean 1RM

These were done at 95#. Right in the vicinity of the percentage described.

They actually felt pretty good after Coach Erin’s additional mobility work for the group. Man we were all wincing, whining and making our nastiest pain faces as she had us foam roll our lats and shoulders, but it definitely paid off. It was much easier to raise my elbows on the cleans afterwards. Thanks, Coach.
Strength:
Snatch Grip Deadlift (video)
5 reps @60%
3 reps @70%
3 reps @80%
4 singles @90% 1RM

Worked with Nat today through these. Working weight set was done at 270. That’s a shade shy of the 90% assigned, but for the 4th workout of the week, it was appropriate.

The biggest issues I find with snatch grip deadlifts are not letting myself get pulled forward over the bar and the grip itself. With the hands spread out wider than normal on the bar, hanging on is tough! I know that’s the point, but it deserved to be noted.

I noticed Nat was using a mixed grip for the working sets. I attempted it once and gave up on it quickly. Mixed grip has always vexed me, even with a standard deadlift.

We spend so much time in CrossFit trying to acheive perfect balance and elminating assymetries in our bodies and the form of our exercises. Grabbing the bar with one hand forward and the other backwards just seems like manufacturing an imbalance from the start.

I’m not criticizing anyone that does it. In fact, some days it does seem to provide an advantage on a traditional deadlift. And if it works use it. But on the wide snatch grip deadlift a mixed grip just creates more uncertainty and doubt on an already slightly foreign lift.

Conditioning: 
AMRAP in 8 Minutes:
8 Deadlifts
6 Hang Power Cleans
4 Front Squats
2 Push Press

Use 70% 1RM Push Press

Craig and I keep saying that some I’ll learn and stop talking to him about the METCONs. Today wasn’t that day. I set my bar initially at 105#. Just under what I thought was the prescribed weight of 50% of 1RM for push press (which is 215).

I was raring to go until I looked over at Craig’s bar and saw that he loaded 135#. Last I knew, Craig and I had very similar 1RMs for the push press. I thought, “Something’s seriously wrong here. Either one of us isn’t understanding the METCON or Craig’s had a MASSIVE PR in his push press that I haven’t heard about.”

I couldn’t believe that he would have made a nearly 60# improvement on a lift and it would have passed by without us discussing it, so I had to ask him, “135#, you aiming high today?” He responded with, “What? That’s the 70%.”

In my head I went, “70%?! No it’s 50%!” Then I checked the board and realized he was right. Out loud, I said, “Aw, CRAP! That’s it. I’m not talking to you any more and this time, I mean it!” I reset my bar at 135# in time to get underway.

I was expecting the front squats to be the killer move in this combination. As it so frequently happens, I was wrong. It was the cleans.

By the time I finished the first round I was gasping. When I got into the second round of cleans I barely had control of the bar. I didn’t have the grip or the strength to lower it safely from the front rack position on my chest back to my thighs to start the next clean. I had to drop the bar to the floor after every damn lift, do an extra deadlift, get myself into a good hang power clean starting position and then execute. The entertainment value in that particular routine wore out real quicksy.

When the 8 minutes expired I had completed 3 full rounds and 17 additional reps (8 deadlifts, 6 cleans, and 3 squats). That’s the official score that went on the white board. UNOFFICIALLY, I’m counting this one as 3 full rounds, 17 (sanctioned) reps PLUS 18 additional deadlifts. Those are the ones which preceded every clean in the rounds of 2, 3 and 4. I admit it. It was my own fault and I own that. It was definitely not my most efficient workout. Oh well!

