After making two aborted attempts at this post and doing some selective reading, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’ve got to back off on a number of levels. Therefore, I’m keeping the work details very high-level, and I’ll explain myself a bit after that.

Skill: Snatch

EMOM for 6 minutes: 1st position, 2nd position, Floor Done with 50% 1RM

* Done as prescribed at #75.
* Definitely took a round or two to loosen up. Mobility continues to be an issue.

WOD:
Back Squat 4-4-4 75%
5 reps of back squat at 45 % 135
5 reps of back squat at 55 %  165
3 reps of back squat at 65 % 195
3 sets of 4 reps of back squat at 75% – 225

* Done at the prescribed weights/percentages.
* Coach Rachel observed more than one set at different weights and said form looked good.
* Something tweaked on the inside of my right knee in the second work set at 75%. Felt as if I’d been bumped there or something inside slipped momentarily. Don’t know. Noticed that for about an hour post-WOD that knee was kind of swollen. I’ll keep an eye on it.

METCON
800 m run
Then: 10-8-6-4-2 reps of:
front squat at 60 %
shoulder-to-overhead
800 m run
time cap: 18 min
Scaled to 50% (120#).

It took me 17:15 (I believe)

*I Finished – during the round of 6 I wasn’t convinced I would. I got pissy about the way this METCON was going and I SO wanted to walk away.

* Totally drained at the end – Not the “Wow, I gave that everything I had. That was one to be proud of” sort of accomplished drained either. Just felt spent and like I had abused myself.

*Finished last by like 2 minutes! This fact and the one above tells me that even though I got under the time cap, maybe I didn’t scale enough.

So let’s start at the top.

Biggest issue I have lost the sense of fun lately in the gym. Lately the workouts all feel like something to get through or endure. There are goals to be attained, PR’s to be hit. I get overly frustrated and critical/analytical about it all when I don’t hit them. I don’t remember the last time I went to the gym just to have fun. Need to get some of that back.

In fact, I did recover a bit of that to start the day. A friend suggested  attempting Turkish Get Ups with a slam ball rather than a kettlebell or barbell. That WAS good fun. I experimented with it during warm ups. The biggest difference I found between using slam balls and kettle bells was I felt I needed to soften my elbow a bit and not lock out my arm. When I locked out my arm, the ball wanted to roll and balance was much more difficult. This was probably the highlight of the morning.

For my friends at CFD, particuarly the 6:15 athletes and coaches, don’t misunderstand me. I still enjoy getting up in the morning and getting to hang out in your collective company. But man, once the coaches say, “3-2-1-GO” I have not been enjoying that time lately as I usually do.

Secondary Issue – my body is feeling punished lately. It’s taking longer to recover from day to day. There have been mornings recently where an hour after the WOD, I’ve gotten down on the floor to help my 4yo get her shoes on. Once that was accomplished, I realized I was so stiff I couldn’t get up off the floor without supporting myself on  a chair or leveraging myself up via the table. This kind of flies in the face of the whole “improving my life through fitness” concept.  And if I’m honest with myself, I’ve been here before. So what do I need to do?

1) Let go of all of the goals and shit for a while. I’m tempted to stop tracking my workouts completely for a while, but I’m not sure about that. I need to just go to the gym to do the exercise and be with the people. I’ve always had the best time and been most motivated by the discovery of it all.

2) Take 5-10 minutes each morning and play with something new. Try a new movement, a new technique, something. Pull down the rope and climb it a couple of times or push the sled, or try some gymnastics moves in the rings. Just do something that isn’t assigned work.

3) Back off the throttle just a bit. I might tinker with my schedule and shift to an every other day mode, but the weekend schedule still doesn’t fit the family lifestyle so that’s not the best option. Part of it will also be being smarter about scaling too. Gotta back that off one more notch.

I think if I can do those three things for a while, things will straighten out.

