Not sure why exactly, but today was a good day. May be it’s because there were ball slams. May be I was just in my happy place. Dunno. But today was a lot of fun.

Skill:
Pistols:
4 Rounds: max reps (-3) pistols Right leg, then Left leg.
Leave 3 reps “in the tank” every round. Scale to a box to put these sets in the 5-10 rep range.

I did these to a 14″ platform unsupported. 4 rounds of 5 reps each.

Scaling pistols is becoming a bit confusing. There are so many options and my ability, such as it is, is in an odd place. So that it’s kind of difficult to decide the best way to scale.

On a day like today where it’s part of the skill portion, I prefer using the platform to take my time and concentrate on form. In METCONs I favor having a vertical support of some type. Not sure if I’m doing myself a disservice in developing that skill by doing that, but it feels right.

I also did these barefoot today and that felt much better. I could feel my feet on the floor better and keep them screwed in much easier. With my shoes on I kept rolling my left ankle outward.

WOD: Press

5 reps of shoulder press at 55 % – 95
3 reps of shoulder press at 65 % – 110
3 reps of shoulder press at 75 % – 120
3 sets of 2 reps of shoulder press at 85 % – 130

These all felt very good this morning. Didn’t record them, so no commentary there.

This is one of those lifts where I think I’d like to lift blind. I’d like someone else to set up a bar for me in the vicinity of my 1RM, not let me see what’s loaded and then go after it.

I believe I should be doing more than my current 155# 1RM, but once I get near that 150# mark doubt sets in. I think I’m physically stronger than 155#, but when it’s time to lift, my mind and body can’t seem to agree.

Need to shake that. I think there’s a big jump in there somewhere, if I could get my head into it.

6 rounds of:
8 reps of ball slams at 30/20 lb
8 reps of overhead walking lunge at 30/20 lb
8 reps of russian twist at 30/20 lb
time cap: 12 min

Done Rx – finished in 5:41

This was a very cool WOD. I enjoy Coach Erin’s METCONs a lot. She has a knack for including an uncommon or unorthodox movement in just about every WOD she programs. I really like that. It appeals to my sense of fun.

Today’s move that caught my attention was the Russian Twists. I haven’t seen those before. They were tougher than anticipated with a 30# slam ball. More than once I lost my balance and ended up flat on my back needing to sit up, reset and redo a rep. Still it was funny as well as challenging.

Ball slams all went unbroken both the reps and the smile on my face. Lunges, almost went unbroken, but I don’t smile during those. I failed to touch my knee one rep late in the game and ended up doing a 9th rep to finish the set.

Still finishing in 5:41 when there was a 12 minute cap felt pretty good! I never really considered the Level II option of using a 40# slam ball and doing 10 reps of each exercise. A small part of me wonders how that would have gone. Most of me knows it likely would have left me feeling punished, so I’m glad I stuck with Level 1.
Urban Scramble:
I should probably make this a separate post and a quick spoiler alert to my friends who read this and are doing the run Monday, but may not want to know what I have in store for us…STOP NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

OK. Have they gone? Cool! Here’s the deal. A few of us are doing a Tough Mudder Obstacle Course in November. In preparation we’re going to do a 2-ish mile urban scramble on Monday. We’re going to run through downtown Durham, do some calisthenics, tackle some obstacles built into the environment. It’s like that “I’m a little bit country. I’m a little bit rock n’ roll.”

This is going to be a little bit Crossfit and a little bit parkour. Hope everyone enjoys it. Here’s the course.
Ground rules:

  • Do 5 air squats at every traffic light (regardless of color) that crosses your intersection. I think I said 10 inititally. Trust me. I’ve counted the lights. 5 is gonna be plenty. And YES. I’m counting the flashing light at the intersection of Rigsbee and Corporation. No skipping that one because it’s not a “real” traffic light.
  • Do 10 push ups at every stop sign that crosses your intersection.

 

Route:

  • Head South up Rigsbee towards Downtown
  • Stop at the Skate Park across the street from the Police Station
  • In the skate park, there is a “pool” and/or arced concrete walls.
  • Choose your obstacle and attempt to scale either one or both.
  • Note: if you choose the pool, it appears to be to be 8-10 feet deep. Make sure you have spotters ready to grab and give you hand up and out. I sincerely doubt it’s a one man exit.
  • After scaling the walls, low crawl (elbows/knees to turf) down from the skate park to the sidewalk headed toward Central Park.
  • Run the sidewalk, cross the bridge headed south toward downtown again.
  • Run South up Foster to CCB Plaza by the Marriott.
  • Sotp at the Plaza.
  • Find a spot on the wall that surrounds the plaza that you think you can box jump.
  • Do 10 over the wall box jumps. To be clear: ‘over the wall’ means jump up ONTO the wall from one side. Land on the wall and jump down to the other side. That’s one rep.
  • DO NOT try to clear the wall. (Scaling option is to do over the wall step ups, or box jumps or step ups on the Bull’s pedestal.)
  • Follow Foster St out towards DBAP across railroad tracks.
  • Remember- 5 air squats per traffic light! 20 if the crossguards are down and you have to wait for a train! 😉
  • Run down Blackwell St and turn into American Tobacco.
  • There’s a fenced in basketball court on the North end near the head of the water feature. One the west side, there’s a concrete lip around the court. Balance walk along that lip from the North end of the court until you reach the first gate and then hop down.
  • Scale up option: There’s a metal hand rail there that I’m guessing is about 36 or so inches high. I might try to walk that. However, don’t take it on alone. There’s nothing but concrete on either side. Don’t walk that rail without spotters!
  • From there head into the main grass lot at the base of the water tower.
  • Bear crawl across the lawn from the sidewalk to the water feature, then inchworm back to the sidewalk.
  • Head to the North Stairs of the S. parking deck.
  • Run the stairs to the top floor.
  • Do inclined shuttle runs on the center ramp of the top floor of the deck which will involve:
  • Run 2 parking spaces up and back
  • Run 4 spaces up and back
  • Run 6 spaces up and back.
  • Down stairs and out garage to Jackie Robinson Drive (by Mellow Mushroom)
  • Turn left heading north up Blackwell St. between ATC and DBAP.
  • Past the ball park there’s a grass lot with a side walk with 6 large boulders. Box jump or step up all 6. Then 20 sit ups.
  • Follow the winding sidewalk toward DPAC and Mangum St.
  • Follow Mangum North to Main St, then turn left on Main.
  • As you run Main St, there are a series of black posts. Slalom through those posts left to right until you arrive at Chapel Hill St.
  • Go right on Morris St headed North
  • Cut through the Durham Farmer’s Market/Measurement Inc lot, down the stairs to the Farmer’s Market pavillion.
  • 10 inchworms across the grass of the pavillion BEFORE crossing Foster St again.
  • Up Hill back to skate park.
  • Do another wall climb.
  • Back to CFD and out back to Old North Durham Park for a ‘rope bridge.’

What do you think? Does it sound like fun? Is it too much? I figure compared to a 10-12 mile Tough Mudder, it can’t be too much. I had a blast scouting out this route, envisioning the challenges and locating obstacles and working out how to incorporate them.  I’m really looking forward to it. I’m also really looking forward to taking part in the Xander WOD at Crossfit Durham on Sunday to raise money for the Durham Animal Protection Society. That’s a very different but rewarding challenge all its own.

