8 rounds of:
13 reps of 24/20 in box jump
13 reps of wall ball at 20/14 lb
13 reps of kettlebell swing at 52/35 lb
13 reps of deadlift at 170/130 lb
13 reps of burpee
200 m run

Complete this workout in teams of 2, alternating each activity EXCEPT the running, which both partners will complete together.

I really like this WOD for a variety of reasons.

1) It’s always great to see multiple gyms come together in a display of community. In this instance, the workout is a fundraiser for the Durham Animal Protection Society. Crossfit Surmount and judging by the t-shirts, several other local boxes were very well represented. That’s very cool because it provides a chance to meet folks I wouldn’t otherwise interact with.

Plus I got to catch up with some old friends who I haven’t seen in a couple of years!  Jay, you are looking STRONG, my friend! Thanks for the mobility assessment.

2) This is a very challenging WOD! It’s a 30+ minute workout and when it’s over, you REALLY feel like you accomplished something special.

3) Whirlwind came today and once again, he joined my partners and I for all of the 200M runs.  Thanks, Chad, Allison and Coach Paul for permitting him to run with us. Even though he still doesn’t fully embrace the “run together” concept. Maybe next year I’ll leash him. 😉

It’s always a privilege and a treat to be able to share a bit of Crossfit with my kids. Any time there’s an opportunity to bring them into the fold to interact with this wonderful group of people, I try to seize it.

4) Coach Paul was coaching today. While I always try to be precise in my reps, when Coach Paul is around I have another level of focus.

I was even more careful than usual to extend the hips completely on every box jump.

Full squat and hit the target on every wall ball rep.

Lock the kettle bell out over head on every American swing

Stand every dead lift to full extension.

I did burpees to a pull up bar to ensure I extended out over head every rep. If I was inclined to cheat any exercise, it would be the burpees. It’s always the burpees.

Results were a bit confused this morning. Things got kind of fluid mid-WOD.

In total I completed 7 rounds, one of those solo, and 3 of those rounds the dead lifts were at 175 rather than 170# in 32:03. It was a fantastic workout!

If you want to say I DNF’d, I won’t argue. I’m not really concerned with it. I’m very satisfied with the day’s results. Although I will say, I want to do this one again with my first partner and see just how well we can do start to finish.

For today, I’m focusing on the fact that I got to spend quality time with a whole bunch of great folks on absolutely gorgeous day. We raised some money for a worthwhile cause and I got a hell of a workout in the process. All in all, it was a very good day. Even getting ejected from Old North Durham Park by a very courteous Durham Police Office post-WOD didn’t put a damper on my spirits.

Tomorrow – the Pre-Mudder Scramble!

