Been hustling lately, not much spare time to write, so this one is two WODs in one post.

Thursday’s Workout
Skill:
3 Rounds:
10 second Hollow holds on floor (to reinforce “hollow body” position).

Not much to talk about here. These felt just fine

4 Rounds:
Max reps (-3) HSPU.
Leave 3 reps “in the tank” every round. Scale to put all sets in the 5-10 rep range.

Had a bit of a revelation with this one. Coach Stephen was guest coaching this Thursday morning. I have long disliked doing HSPU’s from a box because I always feel like I’m cheating them. I always feel like I’m just doing incline/decline push ups not really getting into a good pike vertical position. So I specifically asked him to observe my first set.

Maybe because I knew I had a coach’s eyes on me. I made extra sure to get a good pike. After 5 or 6 reps and I climbed off the box, he confirmed that the positioning was fine, but he advised me to ‘let my shoulders break forward’ before lowering my head to the floor. As he put it, ‘make sure you feel your head and body come forward so that when you reach the floor your hands and head are in a good tripod, not all on the same line.”

The next set I focused on this and I could feel a world of difference. For the first time in memory, HSPUs from a box clicked and felt right. I’m sure other coaches have advised me similarly, but on this day it fell into place. Thanks, Coach Stephen.

Strength: Push Press

5 reps of push press at 55 % – 

3 reps of push press at 65 % –
3 reps of push press at 75 % –
3 sets of 2 reps of push press at 85 %

Left my WOD book at home, so I don’t have this portion recorded. I know I didn’t do all 3 sets of 2 at the full 85%. But I don’t remember if I only did 2 sets or backed the weights off and did 3. All I know is the push presses were HEAVY.

METCON
15 minute AMRAP of:
10 reps of hang clean at 45/25 lb
10 reps of push press
10 reps of overhead plate tricep extension
10 reps of bent over row
10 reps of floor press

I really liked this METCON! The exercises are all pretty standard stuff until you recognize that they were all done with a plate, not a barbell! That made for a very interesting dynamic.

I popped myself a couple of times in the mouth or chin each round of the hang cleans. That was entertaining.

The first round of presses were brutal! I was on the 7th or 8th rep and starting to fail and thinking, “oh this is going to be miserable. I’m not 20 reps in and I’m failing. What’s going on?” It was then that I realized that I was doing a strict press and not using my hips or legs at all! Pay attention, Paul! Help yourself out!

It also has to be mentioned that this was a partner WOD. So one person works through an entire round and then rests while the second person works. I was lucky enough to partner with Elena.

I went first and we completed 9 full rounds and it went right down to the wire! Elena rocked this WOD. Total arm and shoulder burn out! Great stuff. One of those days where I had to sit around a while to rest my arms because I wasn’t sure I’d be able to manage the car’s manual transmission.

As the class was ending Coach Ashley Totten came in to coach the 7:15 session! I scolded her on Facebook later in the day that she ought to announce a guest coach session like that. I absolutely would have adjusted my schedule to be coached by her for a day. That lead to tonight (that’s right tonight’s) WOD.

Friday Night Wod
Coach Ashley pointed out that she would be running tonight’s 6pm WOD. My wife and family were gracious enough to let me skip Friday night dinner to attend and it was good!

Skill:
EMOM for 6 minutes:
Snatch from 1st position
Snatch from 2nd position
Snatch from Floor
Use 50% 1RM

I beefed up the weight here a bit to 95#. That may have been a goofy choice. The fifth and sixth sets were squirrelly.

Strength
back squat 1-1-1-1 90%
5 reps of back squat at 60 % – 165#
3 reps of back squat at 70 % – 220#
3 reps of back squat at 80 % – 235#
1 rep of back squat at 90 % – 265#

Back squats went pretty well. All weights were done as prescribed and all reps were accomplished, so good night.

METCON
400 m run
rest for 2 min
Then:
sit-up (weighted) at 20/10 lb for 1 min
bicycles for 1 min
v sit-up for 1 min
sit-up (abmat) for 1 min
scissor kicks for 1 min
toe touch for 1 min
rest for 2 min
Then:
400 m run

I’m not even going to talk about the core work. Well, just a bit. I can’t even score it. I lost count of my reps across the 6 minutes.Sit ups were fine and all done Rx. Scissor kicks too. Bicycles, V-ups and toe touches were basically 3 minutes of ‘no-rep!’ I was TRYING, but I just couldn’t get the appropriate extremities to connect. Ah well.

But let’s talk about the running! My best run times for a 400M are around 1:35. The first run today was weird. I started fast, got caught by everyone and they proceeded to blow me AWAY. I know. I know. We’re not supposed to compete against anyone but ourselves. But let’s face it. If you’re out there giving your best effort and folks are just pulling away from you on the sidewalk, it takes it’s toll.

So I admit, I was pulling back a bit as I crossed the front of the CFD building. As soon as I could see in the windows, I glanced at the clock and saw 1:#6. I thought, “Damn, 1:36. Not bad, but I should be better.” Then as I crossed the door I looked in again and the clock just turned to 1:30! I thought. “Whoa! Hold everything. 1:30! That’s a damn PR! And I pulled back on that finish!”

It did wonders for my attitude. I joked with Ashley during the rest prior to the core work, “I just PR’d my 400 and was the last guy back by a long shot! Damn these guys are fast.”

After all of the core work we went back out for the second run. At that point I was truly only racing myself. I was no longer concerned with what anyone else was doing. My one goal was to match that 1:30 and ensure it wasn’t a fluke. I tried to apply the things Einar taught me during our limited endurance training last month.

It felt good going out and it felt even better coming back. I let gravity and the grade of the hill work for me. As we crossed in front of the windows it was obvious it was going to be good. I crossed the finish line in front of the building door at 1:25!

That’s a very unexpected 10 second PR! What a fun way to finish off the week.

