Feels good to be finding a rhythm again at the gym. Settling back into some familiar routines and patterns.

Skill:
1 minute of Single Unders
30 seconds of Singles – right
30 seconds of Singles – left
4 minutes of Tabata Double Unders (20 seconds on, 10 seconds off)

Nice to get a bit of jump rope practice in. Haven’t done double unders in quite some time. It showed when they showed up in Monday’s METCON too.

So today it felt good to give them some attention, even though it didn’t go as smoothly as I would have liked.

METCON:
push press 1-1-1-1 90%
5 reps of push press at 60 % – 135
3 reps of push press at 70 % – 155
3 reps of push press at 80 % – 175
4 single reps of push press at 90 % – 195/185

Push press felt pretty good today. Right up to the 90% mark. By the percentages, I should have done singles of 195 pounds, but that was too much weight to do the reps properly today. Chalk it up to being Friday and the fourth WOD of the week. Nothing to get worried about. I pulled the weight back to 185 to have the confidence that I was doing the reps well.

METCON
hang power clean, box jump – Level 1
10-8-6-4-2 reps of:
hang power clean at 75 %
30/24 in box jump
time cap for 9 min

Scaling the push press had me in the mind set of things just feeling heavy today. I attempted a few warm up reps of hang power cleans at the assigned 75% – 145 pounds. It felt overly heavy, like “I don’t think I’ll get through this” sort of heavy. So I peeled back somewhat to 135#.

Today was another example of the challenge coming from an unexpected place. Since I saw the WOD posted Thursday night, I’d been debating whether 30″ box jumps would be a good idea with my sore heel. It mostly feels better although it’s not completely recovered and box jumps seemed like an exercise primed to exacerbate the problem.

I went back and forth about it in my head right up until Coach said “3, 2, 1 Go!” I even made sure to secure one of the 30, 24, 20 boxes so that if 30 proved to be too tough or too painful, I could just roll the box over onto a different side and scale to a lower height on the fly.

But box jumps were never an issue. They weren’t easy, but they weren’t a problem. They didn’t aggrivate my heel. I never missed a rep.

The hang power cleans though were far more taxing than I anticipated. I don’t think I ever set the bar down during a set, but there was definitely more than one time where I lingered with the bar resting on my hips for longer than necessary between cleans.

That being said, I was done in 5:45, well under the 9 minute time cap. So I don’t know. Perhaps the full 75% might have been ok. Again, not that big of a deal. Just glad to have had some fun and grateful for the workout.

 

