Definitely one of those days where the double under gods elected to smite me.

Skill:
EMOM for 8 minutes:
Hang Power Clean from 1st position
Full Clean from 1st position
Use 50% 1RM

Done at 95# second half of the work when better than the first once I warmed up.

Strength: snatch grip deadlift

5 reps of snatch grip deadlift at 55 % – 185
3 reps of snatch grip deadlift at 65 % – 225
3 reps of snatch grip deadlift at 75 % – 255
3 sets of 2 reps of snatch grip deadlift at 85 % – 285

Things started getting weird here. Was definitely still aching mightily from Tuesday’s visit with the benchmark WOD Jack. The only consolation being that to a person, anyone that participated in Jack on Tuesday seemed equally pained. Misery loves company, no?

I did one set at 285. Did one set at 275. Did not attempt a third set.

METCON
wall ball, double unders – Level 1
10 minute AMRAP of:
15 reps of wall ball at 20/14 lb
30 reps of double under

Everyone sing together now:

Where oh where have my DU’s all gone?
Where oh where can they be?
Spent 10 minutes flailing like an ape with my rope.
I’m sure I was a spectacle to see.

3 rounds 39 reps – Ugh! Should have been much better than that.

Last round I couldn’t even string two reps together. Not pretty. They were just GONE!

Wall balls went nearly unbroken. I used the targets on the rig today rather than the wall. For the most part I liked it. Except that on one rep, the ball did not rebound out far enough. It carrommed off one of the pull up bars that jut out of the rig. The ball went sideways, I shifted under it to catch it, but failed. I turned my head away and ended up with a 20# medicine ball in my right ear!

I was not exactly a show of force today at the gym. No big deal tomorrow’s another day.

Speaking of Tomorrow – Funky Shorts Road Show – Day 2! Heading out to Crossfit Briar Creek to work out with a buddy that used to be at CFD. I’m looking forward to it and REALLY hoping there are no double unders.

