Just haven’t been able to keep up with posting so here’s a recap of the last two days of workouts.

tabata bata bata swing tabata
Good fun Thursday at the gym

Skill:
5 Rounds
2 Snatch Deadlift (Not just Sn. Grip DL but, passing through positions of Sn. Pull)
1 Snatch Pull
Rest 90 sec between rounds
Use 60% Snatch 1RM

Somehow I lost sight of the fact that this was supposed to be 60% of the snatch 1RM. I was thinking it was 60% of my snatch grip deadlift. That would be 95+% of my snatch 1RM. The idea of doing 5 snatch pulls at that weight sounded horrible.

I was very relieved to discover it was based on the snatch. These went pretty well.
Strength
Back Squat 2-2-2 @85%
5 reps of back squat at 55 % 165
3 reps of back squat at 65 % 195
3 reps of back squat at 75 % 225
3 sets of 2 reps of back squat at 85 % 255

All weights were Rx and form felt pretty good.

METCON
tabata kettlebell swing, situp, air squat – Level 1
8 rounds of:
kettlebell swing (russian) at 52/35 lb for 20 sec
rest for 10 sec
Then:
8 rounds of:
sit-up (abmat) for 20 sec
rest for 10 sec
Then:
8 rounds of:
air squat for 20 sec
rest for 10 sec

This METCON was a lot of fun! My only goals were to go unbroken through all rounds of all reps and to score consistent across all rounds.

Level II for this WOD involved American Swings over Russian, Weighted sit ups and goblet squats. Many folks seemed to gravitate to that one, but I elected to stick to the Level I.

KB Swings – Goal acheived — 13 swings per round – 104
Sit Ups – Goal not quite acheived — 5 rounds of 9 reps, 3 rounds of 8 reps. Pretty consistent, but not ideal –69 reps

Air Squats — Goal exceeded – 3 rounds of 12, 4 rounds of 13, 1 round (the 8th!)of 14 – 102 reps

Total Score 275 reps — I have to confess, though. I recorded 285 on the WOD Together virtual whiteboard. It was an honest math error, folks. I swear.

 Friday Holiday Fun!

Skill:
Deadhang Pullups
4 sets of 8 reps
I scaled these to ring rows. They went very smoothly.

Strength
floor press 1-1-1-1 90%
5 reps of floor press at 60 % 140
3 reps of floor press at 70 % 160
3 reps of floor press at 80 % 190
4 singles at 90 % 210

These were all done Rx based on a presumed 1RM of 230, or 235. They felt pretty good, but a bit sticky about two-thirds of the way up. Still, not bad.

toes-to-bar, ball slams – Level 1
10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 reps of:
toes-to-bar
slams at 30/20 lb

I didn’t realize there was a time cap on this WOD. Perhaps there wasn’t. I’m not sure. All I know is that when I finished, I checked the clock, but it had stopped counting at 8 minutes. I have no idea how far beyond the 8 minute mark it took me to complete the work. It’s no big deal. I’m pleased I got it all done.

Toes to bar were better than the last time I attempted them. They weren’t all strict. I didn’t touch toes every single rep in the late rounds. I didn’t have that in me today. However even the reps that didn’t touch were closer to toe to bar than knee to elbow, so I’m satisifed with the effort, if not the results.

Also satisfied with my attitude compared to the last time we did toes to bar. Last time I just got really pissy. Today I stayed positive and kept on churning. This might have had something to do with my attitude today.

Holiday silliness

Holiday silliness

That was my workout attire today. Faithful readers will know that we do Funky Shorts Friday at the 6:15 session at Crossfit Durham. It’s an unofficial thing. Just something to make folks smile. We’ve done an 80’s theme WOD recently. Today’s theme was Tacky Holiday attire. I think I PR’d that. Wouldn’t you agree?

What’s not shown in the picture is that I also wore wrist straps with jingle bells on them. It’s fair to say that I was pretty noisy.

I was pleased to see that the McClains both joined in the holiday spirit with their attire! So did Elena! Our friend Allison who is currently running a different workout schedule even made a special appearance absolutely rocking a flannel reindeer themed adult onesie! It’s a mystery to me how she didn’t pass out from heat stroke during the METCON!

Folks who didn’t dress up still seemed to appreciate the spirit of the event and we all shared some smiles and laughs…and holiday cookies! I had to take in a platter of Erin’s holiday baking to share with the gym. Hope no one hates me too much for bringing a platter full of non-paleo baked goods to the box. It always seems kind of ‘wrong’ to do it. But, hey. Folks can always just ignore them.

I’m looking forward to a scheduled rest week next week. Looking forward to some recovery time to get charged up for the upcoming new year. It’s time to review my goals for 2013. I know for a fact that I didn’t achieve many of those that I recorded, but I’m not upset. There were huge gains in unexpected areas. So I have to be pleased. It’s time to work out what my goals will be for 2014 and decide how I want to go after them.

 

